School of Architecture announces winners of the 2007 Kenneth F. Brown Asia Pacific Culture and Architecture Design Awards

Top winners will be recognized at the 7th International Symposium on Asia Pacific Architecture

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Kazi Ashraf, (808) 956-3461
School of Architecture
Posted: Jun 7, 2007

HONOLULU — The School of Architecture at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa, and the Asia-Pacific Center for Architecture, in cooperation with the Architects Regional Council Asia, have announced the winners of the 2007 Kenneth F. Brown Asia Pacific Culture and Architecture Design Award Program. This year‘s awards drew more than 100 projects from architects representing over 12 countries from the Asia Pacific Region. Jurors selected two projects in Bangladesh and in Japan for the award, who will share the $25,000 top prize.

Anna Heringer and Eike Roswag from Austria were honored for their work on "School — Handmade in Bangladesh," which according to jurors, "produced a personality-filled school with the simplest means and materials…" Atsushi Kitagawara Architects were also selected for "Gifu Academy of Forest Science and Culture" in Mino City, Gifu Prefecture in Japan, an "ambitious academy for wood building that encouraged education for developing forestry growth and awareness."

The following projects, which revealed a spectrum of architectural ideas from across the Asia Pacific region, received Honorable Mentions:

  • The Quaid-e-Azam Public School in Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan by Arcop (Private) Ltd.

  • Boao Canal Village in Hainan, China by Rocco Design

  • Architects
  • The Heeren Street Shophouse in Malacca, Malaysia

  • Peppermint Bay in Woodbridge, Tasmania, Australia by Terroir Dty Ltd.

  • The National Art Center in Tokyo, Japan by Kisho Kurokawa

  • The Treatment Center for Mentally Disturbed Children in Date City, Hokkaido, Japan by Sou Fujimoto Architects

  • The Meghna Residence in Dhaka, Bangladesh by Shatotto Architecture for Green Living

  • The Church of St. Mary of the Angels in Singapore by WOHA Architects

  • The Britomart Transport Centre in Auckland, New Zealand by Mario Madayag

The top winners of the 2007 Kenneth F. Brown Asia Pacific Culture Architecture Design Award will be recognized during the opening ceremony of the Seventh International Symposium on Asia Pacific Architecture on June 13.

Jurors for the 2007 awards were Itsuko Hasegawa (Japan); Kerry Hill (Singapore) and Robert Ivy (USA). The program was chaired by Kazi K. Ashraf of the UH Mānoa School of Architecture, and Honolulu architect Philip White.

To register for the Seventh International Symposium on Asia Pacific Architecture, to be held on June 14-16 in the School of Architecture at UH Mānoa, visit the website at

UH students, faculty and staff are invited to take part in the symposium for free. Fees to participate in the opening and closing ceremonies will still apply.

For more information, call 956-7084 or email

Inaugurated in 1995, the program was named in honor of the eminent architect and civil minded humanitarian, Kenneth F. Brown, FAIA, with the purpose of recognizing and celebrating outstanding examples of contemporary architecture in the Asia-Pacific region. The program also seeks to establish a critical foundation for the improvement of the built environment.