UH Mānoa's CRCH provides access to cancer info on TV

Cancer Research Information Day presentations to broadcast on ‘Olelo Community Media

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Contact:
Sharon Shigemasa, (808) 586-3011
Cancer Research Center of Hawai‘i
Lynette Lo Tom, (808) 275-3004
Bright Light Marketing
Posted: Sep 3, 2009

              Oahu residents can now benefit from UH Mānoa’s Cancer Research Center of Hawai‘i’s (CRCH) Fourth Annual Cancer Research Information Day, as its presentations may be viewed on ‘Olelo Community Media channels FOCUS 49, OAHU 52, and NATV 53 beginning Wednesday, September 9, until Friday,
October 23, 2009. Six different topic programs will air on different dates and times for seven weeks.
CRCH cancer specialists and researchers once again reached out to the community with a free all-day informational conference in March 2009 at the Japanese Cultural Center of Hawai‘i in Honolulu, giving presentations on cancer and cancer-related issues. The event was made possible through support by the Friends of the Cancer Research Center of Hawai‘i.
The airtime schedule for the Cancer Research Information Day presentations by topic is as follows:
Applying the Advances in Childhood Cancers to Adolescents and Young Adults
Wednesday, September 9                  4:00 p.m.                     OAHU 52
Thursday, September 10                    10:00 a.m.                   OAHU 52
Friday, October 2                                6:00 p.m.                     FOCUS 49
Sunday, October 4                              6:00 p.m.                     FOCUS 49
 
Panel on Innovations in the Treatment of Lung Cancers
Wednesday, September 16                4:00 p.m.                     OAHU 52
Thursday, September 17                    10:00 a.m.                   OAHU 52
Wednesday, October 7                      6:00 p.m.                     FOCUS 49
Friday, October 9                                6:00 p.m.                     FOCUS 49
 
 
Update on Ovarian Cancer: What’s Being Done to Diffuse Its Impact?
Wednesday, September 23                4:00 p.m.                     OAHU 52
Thursday, September 24                    10:00 a.m.                   OAHU 52
Sunday, October 11                            6:00 p.m.                     FOCUS 49
Tuesday, October 13                          6:00 p.m.                     FOCUS 49
 
Panel on Progress in the Treatment of Breast Cancer
Wednesday, September 30                4:00 p.m.                     OAHU 52
Thursday, October 1                           10:00 a.m.                   OAHU 52
Wednesday, October 14                    6:00 p.m.                     FOCUS 49
Friday, October 16                              6:00 p.m.                     FOCUS 49
 
What’s New in the Treatment of Colorectal Cancer?
Tuesday, October 6                            6:00 p.m.                     FOCUS 49
Wednesday, October 7                      4:00 p.m.                     OAHU 52
Thursday, October 8                           10:00 a.m.                   OAHU 52
Friday, October 23                              6:00 p.m.                     FOCUS 49
 
Cancer Disparities in Pacific Islanders: Why it Matters to Hawai‘i and the U.S.
Wednesday, October 14        3:00 p.m.         NATV 53
Thursday, October 15             10:00 a.m.       NATV 53
Sunday, October 18                6:00 p.m.         FOCUS 49
Tuesday, October 20              6:00 p.m.         FOCUS 49
 
The Cancer Research Center of Hawai‘i is one of only 63 National Cancer Institute-designated cancer centers throughout the United States. As a research unit of the University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa, it conducts cancer research, educational activities, and community outreach. Its research programs focus on: the possible causes of cancer and possible reasons for different cancer rates among Hawai‘i’s ethnic groups; reducing the incidence and impact of cancer in the Hawaiian population; and discovering new anti-cancer agents from local plants and marine microorganisms. The Center is located at 1236 Lauhala Street in Honolulu. For general information on the Cancer Research Center of Hawai‘i, please visit its website at www.crch.org.