skip to Main Content

Committee begins search for dean of the School of Travel Industry Management

University of Hawaiʻi
Jim Manke, (808) 956-6099
External Affairs & University Relations
Kristen Cabral, (808) 956-5039
Public Information Officer
Posted: Sep 10, 2002

Members of the search committee for the dean‘s position at the UH Manoa School of Travel Industry Management (TIM) have been appointed.

"It is only natural for the University of Hawaiʻi to be developing leaders for the state‘s most important industry," said UH Manoa chancellor Peter Englert. "Our expertise in this area is well-known around the world, and selecting the right candidate to guide the School of Travel Industry Management in the years ahead is critical to its success."

Committee chair is law school dean Lawrence Foster, who noted that the school is widely recognized as one of the premier institutions of its kind in the world. "This is due primarily to the hard work and dedication of emeritus dean Chuck Gee and interim dean Pauline Sheldon," Foster said.

"The school‘s excellent faculty and staff have been especially effective in supporting the school‘s unique emphasis on research and scholarship," he added. "Our committee will focus on finding a new dean who will build on this strong foundation and take the school to the next level and beyond."

The firm of Isaacson, Miller has been retained to assist in the search.

Besides dean Foster, committee members are:John Brogan, President (retired), Starwood Hotels and Resorts;Rick Egged, Executive Director, Waikiki Improvement Association;Ren Hirose, Area Director of Six Sigma, Starwood Hotels and Resorts, and President, TIM Alumni Association, and member of the TIM Advisory Board;Laurence W. Jacobs, Professor, Marketing, UH Manoa College of Business Administration (CBA), and Faculty Senate RepresentativeMisty M. Johanson, Assistant Professor, TIM;Juanita C. Liu, Professor and Graduate Chair, TIM;Pauline Sheldon, Interim Dean and Professor, TIM;Dirk Soma, Assistant Dean for Business, Hospitality and Culinary Arts, Kapiʻolani Community College;Hans Strasser, President, Hotelmark Corporation, and Chair of the TIM Advisory Board;Carlos P. Sullivan, student, hotel management and tourism, TIM;Barbara Tanabe, Principal Owner, Hoʻakea, and member of the TIM Advisory Board;Byung-Wook Wie, Professor, TIM;Harold N. Yokouchi, UH Manoa Admissions Officer and staff support representative;Robert Zoller, former president, Hawaiian Airlines;

The dean‘s position is being advertised, with a first screening of applicants beginning this week. Those wishing to send communications to the committee may address them to TIM School Dean Search Committee, attn: Joanne Clark, 2442 Campus Road, Admin Services Building I, Room 101, Honolulu, Hawaiʻi 96822, or email