skip to Main Content

School of Architecture and AIA Honolulu Chapter Recognize Student Design Award Winners

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Posted: Sep 19, 2002

The School of Architecture Gallery on the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa campus is currently showcasing two exhibits, one of them featuring the winners of the 2001-2002 American Institute of Architects Student Design Awards, which are presented by the American Institute of Architects (AIA) Honolulu Chapter. An awards presentation to recognize the winners will be held on Wednesday, September 25, at 6:30 p.m.

The chapter‘s Student Design Awards recognize exemplary work produced by the students at the UH Mānoa School of Architecture. A jury consisting of architects who are members of the AIA and alumni of the school select the winners.

Two students were selected to receive the Award of Excellence — Jen Toba for her design, "Horticulture Complex," and Dennis Oshiro for "Center of Korean Architecture." The Merit Award winners include Leon L. Bixsarra, Jr. for "Figure Ground," Randy K. Sonoda for "HCC Student Activities Center," Niika Hyakumachi for "Noiʻilulu Horticultural Center," Tetsuaki Yoshida for "UH Campus Village Mānoa Town Sports Facility," Branka Knezexic for "University of Hawaiʻi Campus Village Cinema," and Dennis Oshiro for "Rongelap Redevelopment Project: Prototype Residential Unit."

Juror comments on the various designs included "inviting fašade that pulls you in," "building‘s geometry possesses a strong sense of balance," "dynamic — full of energy," "a strong sense of discovery when entering the courtyard space," "expressive roof forms serve as a strong diagram for the environmentally sensitive water capture system."

The exhibit is on view Mondays through Fridays from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. until October 15. Also featured in the gallery is an exhibit of historical villages and hillside housing designs in Hong Kong and other countries created by 10 students who spent six weeks in Hong Kong researching hillside housing.