skip to Main Content

College of Education to Present Awards for Excellence in Education and the Arts

Renowned photographer and UH alumnus PF Bentley among those to be honored for contributions to art education

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Heather Wong, (808) 956-6219
College of Education
Kristen Bonilla, (808) 956-5039
Public Information Officer
Posted: May 4, 2004

The University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa‘s College of Education will honor veteran photojournalist and alumnus PF Bentley with its Award of Distinction at its 17th Annual Recognition Dinner. Entitled "A Celebration of Excellence in Education & the Arts," this year‘s event will honor several individuals and organizations for their contributions to art education on Friday, May 7, at 7:30 p.m. at the Koʻolau Golf Club.

In addition to Bentley‘s Award of Distinction, which recognizes a College of Education alumnus who has achieved national or international distinction, the college‘s Alumni Association will present its 2004 Distinguished Alumnus Award to Charles Araki. Various awards of excellence will also be presented and distinguished benefactors will be honored.

The awards presented include:

· PF Bentley, photojournalist and instructor, Brooks Institute of Photography

Award of Distinction

Currently an instructor in the Visual Journalism department at the prestigious Brooks Institute of Photography, photojournalist PF Bentley is best known for and respected throughout the print and broadcast community for earning unprecedented access to presidential candidates, Heads of State, and Capitol Hill. He was the first photojournalist to shoot on the House floor while in session, and he was behind the scenes with President Bill Clinton for his last week in office. He has covered every presidential campaign and photographed every serious presidential contender since 1980, earning numerous awards for his work.

· Charles Araki, UH Mānoa College of Education, retired

College of Education Alumni Association‘s 2004 Distinguished Alumnus

Araki served 13 years as a teacher and administrator in the Hawaiʻi Department of Education and 26 years at the UH Mānoa College of Education as an interim dean, associate dean for graduate studies and research, and professor of educational administration. He assisted in the design and implementation of the doctoral program in educational administration, the COHORT School Leadership Program, and the field-based teacher education program. This award recognizes a College of Education Alumni Association member for a lifetime contribution to education in Hawaiʻi.

· Carl Takamura, Executive Director, Hawaiʻi Business Roundtable

Award of Excellence

Takamura will be presented with an Award of Excellence for his outstanding leadership in influencing policy and his long-term advocacy in business communities promoting education in the state of Hawaiʻi. Takamura is chairperson of the College of Education‘s Advisory Committee, a position he has held for the past five years, and has been an effective leader in bridging the state‘s education, policy, and business communities.

One individual and four schools and organizations will be honored with the Award of Excellence in Arts Education, a special award fitting this year‘s theme that will recognize these recipients for their service to arts education:

· Judith Hughes, Dean of the UH Mānoa College of Arts & Humanities, will be recognized for her leadership in developing policies, professional development training, and programs that work in cooperation with the College of Education‘s teacher preparation programs.

· Honolulu Theatre for Youth will be recognized for its outstanding and sustained commitment to teacher training in drama education in conjunction with the college‘s degree and licensure programs.

· Ala Wai Elementary School will be recognized for its commitment to music education for young children and for being an active participant in the college‘s Master‘s in Education and Teaching program, which has successfully allowed student teachers to develop and teach arts education curricula.

· Farrington High School will be recognized for its successful and flourishing arts education program and for its partnership with the college‘s Post-Baccalaureate Certificate in Secondary Education program.

· Lanaʻi High & Elementary School will be recognized for its courageous commitment to school reform through an inclusive arts education program.

The college will also recognize as Distinguished Benefactors:

· Kathryn Au, who recently established the Au & Hew Family Endowed Scholarship Fund, and

· Janet S. Ishikawa-Fullmer & Daniel W. Fullmer, who recently established the Janet S. Ishikawa-Fullmer and Daniel W. Fullmer Endowed Fund.

In addition, David Pfeiffer will be honored posthumously with the Lifetime Advocacy Award for his outstanding leadership and tireless efforts advocating on behalf of individuals with disabilities. Pfeiffer came to the college‘s Center on Disability Studies in 1996 as a Resident Scholar. He authored numerous publications and was founder of a journal on disability studies. In November 2003, Pfeiffer was nominated by his colleagues and awarded the Alan Meyers Award from the American Public Health Association‘s DisAbility Special Interest Group for his outstanding lifetime contributions to research, teaching, and advocacy.