University of Hawaii System newsletter

Regents’ Medal For Teaching Awarded

Posted on | August 27, 2010 | Comments Off on Regents’ Medal For Teaching Awarded

12 headshots

Jess Aki, Ned Bertz, Sandra Claveria, Kahele Dukelow, Magdy Iskander, Frederick Lau, Eric Matsuoka, Karla McDermid, Bennett Moffat, Randall Roth, Chhany Sak-Humphry and Gregory Shepherd

Twelve faculty members have been selected as recipients of the Regents’s Medal for Excellence in Teaching. This award recognizes faculty who exhibit an extraordinary level of subject mastery and scholarship, teaching effectiveness and creativity and personal values beneficial to students.

Jess Aki, a professor of cosmetology at Honolulu (Read more)
Ned Bertz, an assistant professor of history at Mānoa (Read more)
Sandra Claveria, an instructor of human services at Hawaiʻi (Read more)
Kahele Dukelow, an instructor of Hawaiian studies at Maui (Read more)
Magdy Iskander. a professor of electrical engineering at Mānoa (Read more)
Frederick Lau, a professor of music at Mānoa (Read more)
Eric Matsuoka, a professor of mathematics at Leeward (Read more)
Karla McDermid, a professor of marine science at Hilo (Read more)
Bennett Moffat, a professor of drama at Windward (Read more)
Randall Roth, a professor of law at Mānoa (Read more)
Chhany Sak-Humphry, an associate professor of Khmer at Mānoa (Read more)
Gregory Shepherd, an associate professor of music at Kaua’i (Read more)

They will be recognized, along with other UH award recipients, at the annual Convocation ceremony on Sept. 14, 10 a.m. at Mānoa’s Kennedy Theatre. The ceremony is open to the public at no charge, and no reservations are needed.

A luncheon follows the ceremony at 11:30 a.m. in the Campus Center Ballroom. Cost for the luncheon is $22. Reservations are required; download the reservation form and return with payment by Sept. 3.

Visit the Convocation website for more information.