University of Hawaii System newsletter

Faculty Honored For Excellence In Undergraduate Teaching

Posted on | September 3, 2010 | Comments Off on Faculty Honored For Excellence In Undergraduate Teaching

six headshots

Lucia Aranda, Jonathan Awaya, Diane Caulfield, Mary Kay Tanka, Karyn Mo Wells and Carleen Yokotake

Six faculty members were honored with the Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. In memory of the late Frances Davis who taught mathematics at Leeward Community College and University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa for 19 years, the award recognizes UH faculty members who demonstrate outstanding dedication and excellence as teachers of undergraduate students.

• Lucia Aranda, an associate professor of Spanish at Mānoa (Read more)
• Jonathan Awaya, an assistant biology professor at Hilo (Read more)
• Diane Caulfield, a professor and cooperative education coordinator at Honolulu (Read more)
• Mary Kay Tanka, a nursing instructor at Kauaʻi (Read more)
• Karyn Mo Wells, a graduate teaching assistant and doctorial candidate in American studies at Mānoa (Read more)
• Carleen Yokotake, an associate professor of speech at Leeward (Read more)

They will be recognized, along with other UH award recipients, at the annual Convocation ceremony on Sept. 14, 10 a.m. at Mānoa’s Kennedy Theatre. The ceremony is free and open to the public.

It will also be broadcast live on the UH Mānoa Campus Cable Channel 67 via streaming video and at the following campus HITS (Hawaiʻi Interactive Television System) locations:
• Kauaʻi – Learning Resource Center, Room 121
• Leeward – Library Room 116
• Maui– Kaʻaike Room 105 CD
• Molokaʻi Education Center – Room 103
• UH Center at West Hawaiʻi – Building 4 Room 2
• UH Hilo – Moʻokini Library, room 344