University of Hawaii System newsletter

Mānoa Staff Recognized for Service

Posted on | June 24, 2011 | Comments Off on Mānoa Staff Recognized for Service

Susan Carlson, Hatsuko Kaulukou and Morris Lai headshots

From left, Susan Carlson, Hatsuko Kaulukou and Morris Lai

Mānoa Chancellor Virginia S. Hinshaw has bestowed the 2011 Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Service on Susan Carlson, Hatsuko Kaulukou and Morris Lai. The annual awards recognize UH Mānoa staff members for outstanding work performance, service and leadership.

Carlson has served as a graduate secretary for the Department of History for more than three years. She is recognized for her excellence and grace and department and graduate chairs often respond to departmental inquiries with the familiar three-word comment, “Let’s ask Sue.” Carlson is admired for her dedication to students, a seemingly endless supply of patience, and respectful approach to any and all concerns. Read more about her.

Kaulukou has served as a janitor in Buildings and Grounds Management for more than 17 years. She is described as an “angel from heaven” and admired for her constant smile, positive attitude and exemplary work ethic. She does what is necessary to get the job done without complaint and adheres to a top standard of performance, which results in spotless classrooms and restrooms, shiny water fountains and immaculate highly trafficked areas. Read more about her.

Morris Lai currently heads the Curriculum Evaluation Office in the Curriculum Research and Development Group and has served Mānoa for almost 37 years. Lai has made numerous contributions toward developing new culturally appropriate evaluation criteria, methods and techniques, and has been a member of numerous committees and organizations focusing on the Native Hawaiian language, culture and community. A repeat winner of prestigious national awards, he is also internationally recognized for his work. Read more about him.

The Mānoa service honorees will be recognized along with other UH award recipients at the annual Convocation ceremony to be held Tues., Sept. 27,10 a.m. at Mānoa’s Kennedy Theatre. The ceremony is open to the public at no charge, and no reservations are needed.