University of Hawaii System newsletter

Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Research Awarded

Posted on | September 9, 2011 | Comments Off on Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Research Awarded

J. Patrick Henry and Lisa J. Kewley  headshots

From left, J. Patrick Henry and Lisa J. Kewley

Mānoa’s J. Patrick Henry and Lisa J. Kewley were awarded the Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Research.

J. Patrick Henry is a professor and astronomer at the Institute for Astronomy. At the forefront of x-ray observations of galaxy clusters for over 30 years, Henry is only one of a dozen at the university recognized as a “Highly Cited Researcher” by Web of Science.

He is the recipient of several international prizes, such as the Humboldt Senior Research Award from the German Humboldt Foundation for lifetime accomplishments in astronomy, and the 2008 Bruno Rossi Prize of the High Energy Division of the American Astronomical Society, the most prestigious international award in the field of high energy astrophysics.

He is consistently ranked as one of the best teachers by students and is an active contributor to the institute’s public outreach program.

Lisa J. Kewley is an associate astronomer at the Institute for Astronomy. An internationally recognized investigator in extragalactic astronomy, Kewley has made several major research breakthroughs in her field including the development of new theoretical diagnostics for measuring the amount of star formation and nuclear activity in galaxies, which is now in use throughout the world.

Her research led to her rank as number one in first author citations in 2010 and total cumulative citations to her published papers among all young astronomers in the world.

Kewley’s public outreach in local and national press educates the public and also nurtures the broad support needed for Hawaiʻi to maintain its status as one of the premier sites worldwide for ground-based astronomy.

They will be recognized along with other UH award recipients at the annual Convocation ceremony to be held Tues., Sept. 27, 10 a.m. at Mānoa’s Kennedy Theatre. The ceremony is open to the public at no charge, and no reservations are needed. A luncheon at the Campus Center Ballroom follows the ceremony. The cost is $25; reservations are required by Sept. 16. Go to the awards website for lunch forms.