University of Hawaii System newsletter

Honolulu Garden Receives Award

Honolulu’s vegetable garden and greenhouse received the Award of Honor in the xeriscape category at the 2011 Better Crocker Landscape Awards

Mānoa Recognizes Teaching

Four Mānoa faculty members—Steve Businger, Alison Conner, Charles Fletcher and Wendell Kekailoa Perry—have each been presented with a 2011 UH Mānoa Chancellor’s Citation for Meritorious Teaching.

Aloha Betrayed Honored

Mānoa Professor Noenoe K. Silva’s book, Aloha Betrayed: Native Hawaiian Resistance to American Colonialism was awarded first place as the most influential book in Native American and Indigenous Studies of the First Decade of the Twenty-First Century Prize.

Mānoa Staff Recognized for Service

Susan Carlson, Hatsuko Kaulukou and Morris Lai were awarded the Mānoa 2011 Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Service

Andrea Fleig Honored with Weinman Award

Andrea Fleig, a Mānoa adjunct professor, was honored with the University of Hawaiʻi Cancer Center’s Weinman Innovator Award.

Niklaus Schweizer Recognized for Service

Niklaus Schweizer, a professor in Mānoa’s College of Languages, Linguistics and Literature, has been honored with the 2011 Robert W. Clopton Award for Distinguished Community Service.

MELE Instructor Wins Nā Hōkū Hanohano Award

Eric Lagrimas, Honolulu’s Music and Entertainment Learning Experience instructor and producer of Pass Out Records, was honored at the 34th annual Nā Hōkū Hanohano Award for Extended Play Release Album of the Year

C-MORE Hale Wins Building Design Award

The new building that houses Mānoa’s Center for Microbial Oceanography: Research and Education won a 2011 Kukulu Hale Award from the Hawaiʻi Chapter of the National Association of Industrial and Office Properties.

College of Education’s Student Services Recognized

Mānoa College of Education’s Office of Student Academic Services was awarded the first ever Academic Advising Unit Award for Excellence and Innovation.

AIDS Researcher Named Scientist of the Year

Cecilia Shikuma, professor and director of the Pacific Center for AIDS Research at Mānoa’s John A. Burns School of Medicine, was named the 2011 Scientist of the Year by the Achievement Rewards for College Scientists Honolulu Chapter.

« go backkeep looking »