University of Hawaii System newsletter

UH Honors Excellence in Teaching

Abby Collier, Ann Emmsley, Gene Harada, Nancy Heu, Yukio Kataoka, Chae Ho Lee, Roberta Martel, John Melish, Joy Nagaue, Kirstin Pauka, Roberto Pelayo, Stephen Taylor, Garyn Tsuru, Jenifer Winter and Christine Yano was awarded the Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching.

Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Research Awarded

Mānoa’s J. Patrick Henry and Lisa Kewley were awarded the Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Research.

Barry Mizuno Appointed Regent

Governor Neil Abercrombie appointed Barry T. Mizuno to fill the Hawaiʻi County seat on the UH Board of Regents.

Board of Regents Welcomes New Members

The Board of Regents gained three new members—Saedene Ota fills a Maui County seat, and Coralie Matayoshi and Jan Sullivan fill seats for the City and County of Honolulu.

Board of Regents Elects New Officers

The Board of Regents elected a new slate of officers for one-year terms effective July 1, 2011. Regent Eric Martinson was elected chair and Regents Carl Carlson and James Lee were elected vice chairs.

RCAC Seeks Candidates for Hawaiʻi Board Seat

The Regents Candidate Advisory Council will soon begin the recruitment process to fill a vacancy for a County of Hawaiʻi seat on the Board of Regents.

Chuck Gee Receives Taiwan Lifetime Achievement Award

Chuck Gee, UH regent and dean emeritus Mānoa’s School of Travel Industry Management, was honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2011 Taiwan Tourism Festival Awards Ceremony

Finalists Named for Board of Regents

The Regents Candidate Advisory Council presented a list of candidates to Gov. Neil Abercrombie to fill four seats on the Board of Regents

Regents Extend President Greenwood’s Appointment

The Board of Regents extended President M.R.C. Greenwood’s appointment for an additional three years, to run through July 31, 2015.

Regents Re-elect Karr and Hirota

Retired Hawaiʻi bank executive Howard H. Karr has been re-elected to serve for a one-year term as chair of the Board of Regents, and engineer Dennis I. Hirota has been re-elected to serve as vice chair.

keep looking »