University of Hawaii System newsletter

Governor’s Award Nominees Announced

The university has nominated Mānoa’s Morris K. Lai, System’s Lui K. Hokoana (nominated by Windward) and the team from Leeward’s Waiʻanae Education Center Team for the 2011 Governor’s Awards.

Mānoa Staff Recognized for Service

Susan Carlson, Hatsuko Kaulukou and Morris Lai were awarded the Mānoa 2011 Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Service

Leeward and Mānoa Nominated for AUW Awards

Leeward Community College was nominated for two 2010 Aloha United Way Spirit of Community Awards— Learning Institution of the Year and Coordinator Team of the Year. Mānoa’ Curriculum Research and Development Group was also nominated for the Learning Institution of the Year award.

Thanh Truc Nguyen Named Emerging Leader

Mānoa Assistant Specialist Thanh Truc T. Nguyen is one of Phi Delta Kappa International’s 2010–11 Class of Emerging Leaders

Celebrating Voices of Hawaiian Culture

Mānoa’s Curriculum Research and Development Group published Hāpai nā Leo, edited by Education Associate Bill Teter. From the powerful opening words of the Kumulipo to the propulsive rhymes of contemporary slam poetry, Hāpai nā Leo celebrates a diverse range of voices that explore, carry and regenerate Hawaiian culture.