University of Hawaii System newsletter


Kudos for Hilo’s Judith Fox-Goldstein and Michael Marshall and Mānoa’s Gary Heusel, Carole Petersen and Amarjit Singh.

UH Honors Excellence in Teaching

Abby Collier, Ann Emmsley, Gene Harada, Nancy Heu, Yukio Kataoka, Chae Ho Lee, Roberta Martel, John Melish, Joy Nagaue, Kirstin Pauka, Roberto Pelayo, Stephen Taylor, Garyn Tsuru, Jenifer Winter and Christine Yano was awarded the Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching.

UH Happenings This Week

Mānoa and Hilo’s jazz performances, Kapiʻolani’s open house, Honolulu’s Wet ’n Wild for AUW event and more.


Kudos for Hilo’s Carolyn Ma and Michael Marshall.

New Degree Aids Military Mental Health Professionals

UH Hilo will begin offering a master of science in clinical psychopharmacology degree in the College of Pharmacy.

Student Kudos

Hilo students David Senitz Ahseln and David Meyer were selected for the fall 2011 Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship Program to study abroad.

Seven Honored for Undergraduate Teaching

Seven faculty members were honored with the Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching–Windward’s Leticia Colmenares, Mānoa’s Erin Cozens, Maui’s Hiroko DeLeon, West Oʻahu’s Linda Furuto, Mānoa’s Tomoko Iwai, Kapiʻolani’s Susan Jaworowski and Hilo’s Sarah Marusek.

Hilo Gets $1 Million for Reentry Scholarships

Hilo received a $1 million award from The Bernard Osher Foundation to support returning adult students.

Hilo Honors Outstanding Service

Keiki Kawaiʻaeʻa, Kirk Mikami, Rebecca Ostertag and Kolby Santiago are honored with the University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo Chancellor’s Award.

Hilo Unveils New Sciences and Technology Building

A blessing and dedication was on Aug. 2 for Hilo’s new Sciences and Technology Building.

keep looking »