Awards Section

The Thomas Ehrlich Engaged Faculty Award

Nomination Deadline: April 5,2010 midnight

Campus Compact recognizes one faculty member each year for exemplary engaged scholarship, including leadership in advancing students' civic learning, conducting community-based research, fostering reciprocal community partnerships, building institutional commitments to service-learning and civic engagement, and other means of enhancing higher education's contributions to the public good. The award - previously known as the Thomas Ehrlich Faculty Award for Service-Learning - is named in honor of. Thomas Ehrlich, former chair of the Campus Compact board of directors and president emeritus of Indiana University.

Visit the following website for more information:
The Frank Newman Leadership Award

Nomination Deadline: tbd

In 2004, the Newman family and Frank's many friends and admirers established The Frank Newman Leadership Fund to enable college students with demonstrated financial need and potential for leadership to receive financial assistance and mentoring, and to have a significant experience in civic leadership during their college years.

The Frank Newman Leadership Award provides financial support and mentorship to assist students achieve their civic and academic goals. Two $5,000 awards are available to undergraduate students at Campus Compact member colleges and universities.

Visit the following website for more information:

2010 Community Student Impact Award

Nomination Deadline: February 19, 2010

This is the fourth year for the Community Impact Student Award, which will be presented annually during the Statewide Service Leaning Conference. This award recognizes one student per Hawaii Pacific Islands Campus Compact (HIPICC) member institution who exhibits outstanding leadership and innovative approaches in their community service or service-learning endeavors both on their campus and within their community. The winners will be announced on February 26, 2010 and the recipients will be recognized at the Statewide Service Learning Conference on March 13, 2010. Each award recipient from an individual campus will compete with other winners from across the state to be nominated for Campus Compact's Howard R. Swearer Student Humanitarian Award. Please note that although you may choose a senior to receive the Community Impact Student Award from your campus, they will be ineligible to be considered for the Swearer Award.

Download the 2010 Community Student Impact Award Nomination Packet:
2010 Community Student Impact Award Application (54.9KB pdf)

Call for Nominations - 2010 Collaboration Awards

Nomination Deadline: February 19,2010

The Community College National Center for Community Engagement wishes to celebrate outstanding campus-based service-learning and civic engagement programs that have developed partnerships outside their institutions. The Center seeks nominations for the following awards:

  • Collaborations with Social Agencies
  • Collaborations with Business and Industry
  • Collaborations with K-12 Schools
  • Collaborations with Universities
  • International Service Learning

Eligibility: This award is open to all two-year colleges who collaborate through service-learning and civic engagement with social agencies, business and industry, K-12, universities, or internationally.

Please note that:

  • This is an institutional award and not for an individual.
  • Winners need to attend the CCNCCE Conference to accept their award and to present on their program.
  • Colleges that have won within the past five years in any category are ineligible to apply.
  • All costs associated with this award are the responsibility of the college.

Nomination: A Nomination Form must be completed, along with a Nomination (see Nomination Form for details) and letters of support from the campus president and collaborating partners. Only one nomination per college will be accepted. Nomination must be in only one category. The Nomination Form, Nomination, and letters must be received by February 20, 2009 in the Center's office.

Successful applicants will be selected on these criteria:

  • quality of learning opportunities provided to students
  • contribution of both the institution and its partner(s) to community improvement
  • level of faculty involvement in the collaboration
  • potential to be replicated in other communities

NOMINATIONS ARE DUE: February 19, 2010

The winning colleges will be presented awards at the Community College National Center for Community Engagement National Conference in May. Costs associated with this award are the responsibility of the college. For More Information, CLICK HERE or Contact: Lyvier Conss, Executive Director Community College National Center for Community Engagement 1025 North Country Club Drive, Room 320 Mesa, Arizona 85201 Phone - 480-461-6281 or Email -

Download the 2009 Collaboration Awards Nomination Form:

Carter-Kellogg Scholarship presented by Stetson University

Nomination Deadline: February 19, 2010

The Jimmy & Rosalynn Carter Partnership Foundation, in coordination with Stetson University, announces the Carter-Kellogg Scholarship presented by Stetson University. Full-time college students who have completed or implemented service-learning projects are eligible to compete for $500 scholarships. To apply, students should describe their project activities and results, and a critical reflection on what they learned. Students must be able to articulate clearly the role that academics played in their project and the effects the project has had on the community. More specific guidelines and the online application can be found at The deadline for this competition is rolling, with winners being selected monthly. To be included in the February competition, submissions must be completed by February 20.

The MacJannet Prize

Nomination Deadline: has been closed

The MacJannet Prize recognizes exceptional student civic engagement initiatives based in universities around the world and contributes financially to their ongoing public service efforts. One first prize ($5,000), two second prizes ($2,500/ea.), and five third-place prizes ($1,000/ea.) will be awarded. Student initiatives that are based at a Talloires Network member institution are eligible to be considered for this prize. A documentary of the first place winner will be produced and profiles of all the winners will be posted on the MacJannet Prize website.

Visit the following website for more information:

Search Site

Related Sites

UHM Logo

CC Logo

SIS Logo
SLPathways Logo
SLP Logo
CNCS Logo Learn and Serve Higher Education Logo