The UH System

Who We Are

Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Davis Award Winner

Christopher Jacobsen, headshot

Christopher Jacobsen

Christopher Jacobsen is an instructor in the agriculture program in the Applied Technical Education Division at Hawai‘i Community College.

Jacobsen has made the rounds in the UH System. After graduating from UH Hilo with a BS in tropical horticulture, he spent 12 years working for UH Manoa’s College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources.

Jacobsen spent his youth in Minnesota. He finds peace and relaxation through meditation and enjoys gardening, landscaping, hiking and bodysurfing.

The Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching recognizes dedication and demonstrated excellence as teachers of undergraduate students. It was established as a memorial to the late Frances Davis, who taught mathematics at Leeward Community College and UH Manoa for 19 years.

Current Winners
Go to UH News for stories on the latest honorees.

2002 – 2015 Honorees
2012–2015 | 2007–2011 | 2002–2006.


Corey Adler, headshot
Corey Adler
Anne Chung, headshot
Anne Chung
LaVache Scanlan, headshot
LaVache Scanlan

Past winners from 2007–2011 and 2002–2006.