The UH System

Who We Are

Frances Davis Award for Undergraduate Teaching 2002-2006 Award Recipients

Davis Award Winner

Susan Dik, headshot

Susan Dik

Susan Dik is an instructor of business at Kapi‘olani Community College. She provides her students with hands-on experiences and encourages them to learn in the real world. Epitomizing the college’s commitment to student centered learning, Dik is an outstanding example of hard work and dedication.

Dik says, "Education is the key to personal growth, and I am dedicated to the notion that learning is a necessary lifelong experience." She prepares her students with the best workplace skills possible. Dik believes that it is a teacher’s responsibility to encourage students to kulia i ka nu‘u or strive for the highest.

The Frances Davis Award for Undergraduate Teaching recognizes dedication and demonstrated excellence as teachers of undergraduate students. It was established as a memorial to the late Frances Davis, who taught mathematics at Leeward Community College and UH Manoa for 19 years.

Select a recipient for more about that individual, or view the most recent winners.


Anthony Kilbert, headshot
Anthony Kilberk
Mai Wong, headshot
Mai Wong


Colette Higgins, headshot
Colette Higgins
Barbara Hotta, headshot
Gordon Scott Lee
Leslie Lyum, headshot
Leslie Lyum
Employment Training Center
Mark Panek, headshot
Mark Panek