The UH System

Who We Are

Frances Davis Award for Undergraduate Teaching 2002-2006 Award Recipients

Davis Award Winner

Seri Luangphinith, headshot

Seri Luangphinith

Seri Luangphinith is an assistant professor of English at UH Hilo. She demands that each student make an honest effort to meet her standards of excellence. Luangphinith sets high standards in the expected level of reading and writing in her classes and has developed a strong student following.

According to a colleague, "She models the desirable behavior we would like our students to engage in so they will be involved and be caring citizens of the community." Luangphinith also helped students create an English club, which has assisted with a variety of service projects, such as the annual UH Hilo Food Drive and renovation of the dormitories’ volleyball area.

The Frances Davis Award for Undergraduate Teaching recognizes dedication and demonstrated excellence as teachers of undergraduate students. It was established as a memorial to the late Frances Davis, who taught mathematics at Leeward Community College and UH Manoa for 19 years.

Select a recipient for more about that individual, or view the most recent winners.


Anthony Kilbert, headshot
Anthony Kilberk
Mai Wong, headshot
Mai Wong


Colette Higgins, headshot
Colette Higgins
Barbara Hotta, headshot
Gordon Scott Lee
Leslie Lyum, headshot
Leslie Lyum
Employment Training Center
Mark Panek, headshot
Mark Panek