The UH System

Who We Are

Frances Davis Award for Undergraduate Teaching 2002-2006 Award Recipients

Davis Award Winner

Michael Nassir, headshot

Michael Nassir

An instructor in physics and astronomy at Manoa, Michael Nassir finds that it is both the explanatory power of physics and its accompanying sense of wonder that energizes him as both teacher and scientist.

Nassir finds that the single most useful technique for improving the effectiveness of his teaching and raising the interest level of his students is to introduce them to as many multimedia and physical demonstrations as possible.

In 2002 Nassir became the coach and faculty advisor to the Manoa College Bowl team, an academic quiz bowl competition, which he escorted this spring to the regional tournament.

The Frances Davis Award for Undergraduate Teaching recognizes dedication and demonstrated excellence as teachers of undergraduate students. It was established as a memorial to the late Frances Davis, who taught mathematics at Leeward Community College and UH Manoa for 19 years.

Select a recipient for more about that individual, or view the most recent winners.


Anthony Kilbert, headshot
Anthony Kilberk
Mai Wong, headshot
Mai Wong


Colette Higgins, headshot
Colette Higgins
Barbara Hotta, headshot
Gordon Scott Lee
Leslie Lyum, headshot
Leslie Lyum
Employment Training Center
Mark Panek, headshot
Mark Panek