The UH System

Who We Are

Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Research

Research Medal Award Winner

Magdy Iskander, headshot

Magdy Iskander
Electrical Engineering

Magdy Iskander is a professor of Electrical Engineering at UH Manoa and the director of the Hawai‘i Center for Advanced Communications (HCAC).

One of the most innovative and influential researchers in electromagnetics, Iskander has made significant contributions to electromagnetic theory and applications. He has published numerous papers and obtained eight patents. His pioneering research on “microwave stethoscope” technology promises breakthroughs in affordable healthcare and patient monitoring in remote communities.

Iskander received numerous awards, including the UH Regent’s Medal for Excellence in Teaching, and two international Distinguished Educator awards from IEEE, the largest electrical engineers’ organization in the world. HCAC is a partner in the NSF Industrial/University Research Center on telecommunications with four other U.S. universities and has collaborations with centers from China, Taiwan, France and Spain. An NSF review praised HCAC for outstanding scholarly research contributions, exceptional facilities and the innovative “Research Experience for Teachers” outreach program for middle schools.

The Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Research is awarded by the Board of Regents in recognition of scholarly contributions that expand the boundaries of knowledge and enrich the lives of students and the community.

Please contact your Campus Chancellor's Office for more information on the application process.

Current Winners
Go to UH News for stories on the latest honorees.

1965-2015 Honorees
2012–2015 | 2011–2007 | 2006–2002 | 2001–1965


Karen Meech, headshot
Karen Meech
Axel Timmermann, headshot
Axel Timmermann


Ruth Gates, headshot
Ruth Gates
Marine Biology
Andrew Howard, headshot
Andrew Howard
Nick Kaiser, headshot
Nick Kaiser


Magdy Iskander, headshot
Magdy Iskander
Electrical Engineering
Bin Wang, headshot
Bin Wang


Roger Ames, headshot
Roger Ames
Christopher Bae, headshot
Christopher Bae
Aaron Ohta, headshot
Aaron Ohta
Electrical Engineering