The UH System

Who We Are

Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching

Teaching Medal Award Winner

V. Amarjit Singh, headshot

V. Amarjit Singh

A professor in civil and environmental engineering, V. Amarjit Singh believes that learning has to be pleasant and pleasurable. He teaches undergraduate and graduate courses in the civil engineering department and cross-listed courses with the law school.

Singh instills the valuable lesson of how an innovative idea can become a reality in the engineering profession and what can cause ideas to fail. He facilitates “out-of-the-box” thinking and inspires his students to become the quality engineers needed to remake Hawai‘i’s future. One of his students said that Singh is “a fine example of a compassionate, genuine and caring man.”

The Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching is awarded by the Board of Regents as tribute to faculty members who exhibit an extraordinary level of subject mastery and scholarship, teaching effectiveness and creativity and personal values that benefit students. The board also awards the Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Research.

Select a recipient for more about that individual.

Or view previous years’ winners: 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003-1965


Diane Caulfield, headshot
Diane Caulfield
Krista Hiser, headshot
Krista Hiser
Frank Kudo, headshot
Frank Kudo
West O‘ahu
Ross Langston, headshot
Ross Langston
Shelley Ota, headshot
Shelley Ota
Taupouri Tangaro, headshot
Taupouri Tangaro