The UH System

Who We Are

Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching

Teaching Medal Award Winner

Kay Ono, headshot

Kay Ono

Kay Ono is an associate professor from the Business Technology, Business Division of Leeward Community College.

Her parents were interned during World War II when her mother taught typing without typewriters. Ono believes her parents’ experiences, values and morals shaped her strong work ethic and desire to help students.

She earned her bachelors and masters degrees from Loma Linda University, La Sierra and had a successful high school teaching career in California before moving to Hawai‘i.

She received the National Business Education Association’s Teacher of the Year award in 2011 and has been recognized many times for her vast accomplishments.

The Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching is awarded by the Board of Regents as tribute to faculty members who exhibit an extraordinary level of subject mastery and scholarship, teaching effectiveness and creativity and personal values that benefit students. The board also awards the Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Research.

Select a recipient for more about that individual.

Or view winners by year: 2012 |2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003-1965


Tod Aeby, headshot
Tod Aeby
Linda Furuto, headshot
Linda Furuto
West O‘ahu
Floyd McCoy, headshot
Floyd McCoy
Veronica Ogata, headshot
Veronica Ogata
Kay Ono, headshot
Kay Ono
Kathryn Sims, headshot
Kathryn Sims
John Zuern, headshot
John Zuern