The UH System

Who We Are

UH Manoa Chancellor’s Citation for Meritorious Teaching

Manoa’s Meritorious Teachers

Janice Shoultz, headshot

Janice Shoultz
School of Nursing and Dental Hygiene

Janice Shoultz is a professor of nursing in the School of Nursing and Dental Hygiene. She is a key leader in the school’s effort to be directly involved with community development and healthcare in the state.

Her specific nursing goals with students include development of lifelong learning, critical thinking and effective communication. Shoultz is an expert on the principles of community based participatory research.

For a number of years, Shoultz has secured federal and state funding and provided leadership for the Quentin Burdick Rural Health Project that offered interdisciplinary students an opportunity to experience the healthcare needs of rural communities.

She has coordinated and taught two interdisciplinary courses, Rural Health Teams and Child Welfare. The classes she teaches contribute to the programmatic and institutional goals of the nursing school.

The University of Hawai‘i at Manoa Chancellor’s Citation for Meritorious Teaching recognizes Manoa faculty members who have made significant contributions to teaching and student learning.

Select a recipient for more about that individual or view winners from 2002–2006.


Steven Businger, headshot
Steven Businger
Charles Fletcher, headshot
Charles Fletcher
Geology and Geophysics
Wendell Kekailoa Perry, headshot
Wendell Kekailoa Perry
Hawaiian Studies


Jonathan Deenik, headshot
Jonathan Deenik
Tropical Plant and Soil Sciences
Michael Dunn, headshot
Michael Dunn
Human Nutrition, Food and Animal Sciences
Joel Moffett, headshot
Joel Moffett
Academy for Creative Media
Michael Nassir, headshot
Michael Nassir
Physics and Astronomy


Kate Lingley, headshot
Kate Lingley
Art and Art History


Jane Kadohiro, headshot
Jane Kadohiro
Sankaran Krishna, headshot
Sankaran Krishna
Political Science
Gregg Lizenbery, headshot
Gregg Lizenbery
Theatre and Dance
Lois Yamauchi, headshot
Lois Yamauchi
Educational Psychology


Daphne Desser, headshot
Daphne Desser
David Haymer, headshot
David Haymer
Paula Morelli, headshot
Paula Morelli
Social Work
Amy Schafer, headshot
Amy Schafer
Janet Uyehara, headshot
Janet Uyehara