UH Contemporary Music Ensemble

November 18, 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Mānoa Campus, Orvis Auditorium Add to Calendar

Thomas Osborne, director

The UH Contemporary Music Ensemble presents a program of contemporary classics and new, groundbreaking works. The international concert includes music by Dutch composer Louis Andriessen, Estonian Arvo Pärt, and Korean Hwang Ho-jun. The evening of music will end with the landmark work Coming Together by American composer Frederick Rzewski, The work, scored for narrator, electric bass and mixed ensemble, is a rare treat to hear in Hawaii.

The program:

  • Louis Andriessen: The Memory of Roses (piano and toy piano)
  • Arvo Pärt: Spiegel im Spiegel (cello and piano)
  • Hwang Ho-jun: The Illusion of a Butterfly in a Dream (gayageum and percussion)
  • Frederick Rzewski: Coming Together (narrator and mixed ensemble)

Ticket Information
$10 general admission, $6 students, seniors (65+), UH faculty/staff (ID required) (at the door)

Event Sponsor
Music Department, Mānoa Campus

More Information
(808) 956-8742, uhmmusic@hawaii.edu, http://manoa.hawaii.edu/music

Share by email