Graduate Students

Japanese Graduate Students

Yunchuan Chen, Ph.D.
Email:  chenyunc@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Fukuda, Shinichiro
Research interests: Japanese and Chinese syntax; generative approaches to L2 acquisition
Malgorzata Citko, Ph.D.
Email: mcitko@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Huey, Robert
Research Interests:Ancient and Medieval Japanese Court Poetry (Waka),Traditional Poetry Criticism, Reception and Appropriation of Antiquity in Medieval Japan, Rokujo and Mikohidari poetic houses, and fluidity of texts
Sean Forté, Ph.D.
Email:  sforte@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Yoshimi, Dina
Research interests: Japanese Pedagogy, Dialogism and Sociocultural Theory in L2 Instruction, Classroom Practices
Masumi Hamada, Ph.D.
Email: masumiha@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Kanno, Kazue
Vera Hanaoka, Ph.D.
Email:  vera2@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Yoshimi, Dina
Research interests: Japanese language pedagogy, Discourse analysis, Learner identity
Keiko Hata, Ph.D.
Email:  keiko3@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Kanno, Kazue
Research interests: Japanese Syntax, Psycholinguistics, L1 & L2 Acquisition
Ako Hayashi, MA.
Email: akohayas@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Yoshimi, Dina
Kunihiko Homma, Ph.D.
Email: khomma@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Cook, Haruko
Research interests: Sociolinguistics, Japanese as a Heritage Language, Pragmatics, Japanese pedagogy, Discourse analysis, Linguistic Landscape
Ryan Hughes, Ph.D.
Email:  rc37@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Fukuda, Shinichiro
Maiko Ikeda, Ph.D.
Email:  maikoi@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Cook, Haruko
Tomoki Kimura, Ph.D.
Email: tomoki3@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Ito, Ken
Research interests: Discourse on monolingualism in Japanese literature, Representations of the Japanese diaspora in literature, Cultural studies
Lynn Lethin, MA.
Email:  lethin@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Cook, Haruko
Research interests:  Sociolinguistics
Andrew Long, MA.
Email:  along8@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Kanno, Kazue
Harumi Maeda, Ph.D.
Email:  harumim@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Yoshimi, Dina
Kristyn Martin, Ph.D.
Email:  kristynm@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Cook, Haruko
Koyuki Mitani, Ph.D.
Email:  kmitani@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Gabriele Kasper
Research interests: Sociolinguistics, Pragmatics, Interactional competence, Second language development, Conversation analysis, Discourse analysis
Kana Morimoto, MA.
Email:  kanam@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Cook, Haruko
Ryler Nielsen, Ph.D.
Email: rylerjn@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Cook, Haruko
Research interests: Japanese Linguistics: pedagogy, sociolinguistics, Ryukyuan Languages: pedagogy, documentation, technology
Yoshiaki Otta, Ph.D.
Email: yotta@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Ito, Ken
Francesca Pizarro, Ph.D.
Email: fpizarro@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Ito, Ken
Research interests:  Meiji & Taisho period literature, shōjo fiction, women’s studies, girls’ studies
Hilson Reidpath, Ph.D.
Email:  hilson4@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Huey, Robert
Research interests: Okinawan Literature, Race in Japan
Ching Shek, MA.
Email:  cshek@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Cook, Haruko
Kenichi Shinkuma, MA.
Email:  shinkuma@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Cook, Haruko
Research interests: Sociolinguistics, Dialectology, Syntax, and Pragmatics
Amy Shiroma, MA.
Email:  ats22@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Kanno, Kazue
Research interests: Japanese Linguistics
Nana Suzumura, Ph.D.
Email: nanasuzu@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Kondo-Brown, Kimi
Justin Tanaka, Ph.D.
Email:  jtanaka2@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Fukuda, Shinichiro
Kati Vasconcellos, MA.
Email:  klvascon@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Kanno, Kazue
Ruri Yoshii, Ph.D.
Email:  ruriy@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Yoshimi, Dina
Keely Zabonik, MA.
Email: zabonik@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Vance, Timothy
Research interests: Phonology; phonetics; second language acquisition; dialectology

Chinese Graduate Students

Brown Gregory, Ph.D.
Email: gdb@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Spring, Madeline
Research interests: Classical Chinese – Language, Literature, and Philosophy
Jou-Chun Chen, Ph.D.
Email: chenjc@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Wang, Haidan
Yijun Ding, Ph.D.
Email: dingy@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Yue, Ming-Bao
Research interests: 20th-century Chinese literature and gender studies
Jin Dong, Ph.D.
Email: dj415@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Spring, Madeline
Research interests: Second language acquisition; Chinese pedagogy.
Ryan Fleming, Ph.D.
Email: ryandf@hawaii.edu
Advisor: McCraw, David
Research interests: Traditional Chinese Literature, Literary Theory, and Chinese Philosophy.
Meaghan Katz, MA.
Email: makatz@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Yue, Ming-Bao
Chi-Yu Liao, Ph.D.
Email: chiyu@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Yue, Ming-Bao
Chuan Lin, Ph.D.
Email: chuanlin@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Jiang, Song
Xiaolong Lu, Ph.D.
Email: xlu6@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Jiang, Li
Research interests: Cognitive Linguistics, Construction Grammar, Chinese Syntax and Semantics
Reed Riggs, Ph.D.
Email: rsriggs@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Jiang, Song
Research interests: Mandarin, Corpus Linguistics, Cognitive Grammar, Usage-based Linguistics, Language Acquisition & Development
Di Sun, Ph.D.
Email: sundi@hawaii.edu
Advisor: McCraw, David
Research interests:Classical Chinese Literature, Late Imperial Chinese Literature, Edo Japanese Literature
Yunhe Sun, Ph.D.
Email: ysun@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Haidan, Wang
Research interests:  Chinese Pedagogy, Language Assessment and Measurement, Language Program Development and Evaluation
Qiong Wu, Ph.D.
Email: qiongwu@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Jiang, Song
Research interests: Second language acquisition and Cognitive linguistics
Xue Xia, Ph.D.
Email: xuexia@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Haidan, Wang
Xiao Ye, Ph.D.
Email: xiaoye@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Spring, Madeline
Research interests: Chinese Syntax and Semantics; Classical Chinese
Mengying Zhai, Ph.D.
Email: mzhai9@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Haidan, Wang
Research interests:  Chinese pedagogy

Korean Graduate Students

Hyunjung An, Ph.D.
Email:  an3@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Park, Mee-Jeong
Research interests: Korean language pedagogy (Written corrective feedback), Discourse-functional linguistics
Brian Boyle, MA.
Email: brian42@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Kong, Dong-Kwan
Hyunsun Chung, Ph.D. 
Email: hyunsunc@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Sohn, Homin
Research interests:  discourse-functional linguistics, conversation analysis, pragmatics, semantics, grammaticalization and Korean language pedagogy.
Meghan Delaney, Ph.D.
Email: delaneym@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Park, Mee-Jeong
Research interests:  Pedagogy
Bonnie Fox, Ph.D.
Email: foxbonni@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Cheon, Sang-Yee
Research interests: Phonetics (articulatory, sound change), Phonology (prosody, tone, intonation), Korean, Jejueo, Second Language Acquisition (especially relating to Korean L2), Morphology (neologisms), Korean Historical Linguistics (comparative theory within phonology), Experimental Linguistics
Clara Hur, MA.
Email: clarahur@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Kong, Dong-Kwan
Chiyeon Hwang, Ph.D.
Email: chiyeon@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Kim, Yung-Hee
Research interests: 20th century Korean literature, literary criticism, film and culture, gender studies & feminism
Latoya Irving, MA.
Email: lirvi@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Kong, Dong-Kwan
Dianne Juhn, Ph.D.
Email: diannej@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Cheon, Sang-Yee
Research interests: Korean linguistics, visual arts and pedagogy, Korean Art and History
Boo Kyung Jung, Ph.D.
Email: bookyung@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Park, Mee-Jeong
Inho Jung, Ph.D.
Email: inhojung@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Park, Mee-Jeong
Sujin Kang, MA.
Email: sujinkan@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Kim, Mary Shin
GiHyun Kim, MA.
Email: gihyunk@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Kong, Dong-Kwan
HwanHee Kim, Ph.D.
Email: hwanhee@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Park, Mee-Jeong
Hyejin Kim, Ph.D.
Email: hyejin7@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Kim, Yung-Hee
Research interests: Feminism in Modern Korean literature
Jai Eun Kim, MA.
Email: jaieunk@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Kong, Dong-Kwan
Na Young Kim, Ph.D.
Email: nayoungk@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Sohn, Homin
Ok Sim Kim, Ph.D.
Email: okim@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Sohn, Homin
Daniel Ku, MA.
Email:  danielbk@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Kong, Dong-Kwan
Diana Lee, MA.
Email: diana630@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Kong, Dong-Kwan
Eun Jung Lee, Ph.D.
Email: leeej@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Park, Mee-Jeong
Jae Sun Lee, Ph.D.
Email: jaesun@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Sohn, Homin
Jee Hyun Lee, Ph.D.
Email: jeelee@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Kim, Mary Shin
Joungmok Lee, Ph.D.
Email: joungmok@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Sohn, Homin
Seok Jong Lee, MA.
Email: seok8558@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Kong, Dong-Kwan
Jennifer Lopez, MA.
Email: jlopez22@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Kong, Dong-Kwan
Sumire Matsuyama, Ph.D.
Email: sumirema@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Park, Mee-Jeong
Brendan Memmott, MA.
Email: bmemmott@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Kong, Dong-Kwan
Tyler Miyashiro, Ph.D.
Email: tylerbm@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Kim, Mary Shin
Kyoung Won Oh, Ph.D.
Email: kwoh@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Sohn, Homin
Sooran Pak, Ph.D.
Email: sooran@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Park, Mee-Jeong
Research interests:  Korean syntax, semantics, and pedagogy
Cheol Rin Park, Ph.D.
Email: crpark@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Sohn, Homin
Kyae-Sung Park, MA.
Email: kyaesung@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Cheon, Sang-Yee
Hye Young (Choi) Smith, Ph.D.
Email: hyc@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Cheon, Sang-Yee
Research interests: Korean conversation analysis, Korean modal suffixes, L2 identities, Emotions in L2 learning & teaching
Kelly Watts, MA.
Email: kellyew@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Kong, Dong-Kwan
Research interests: Korean Language, Korean Society and Culture, International Environmental Protection
Jude Yoonlim Yang, Ph.D.
Email: judeyang@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Pak, Gary (English Dept.)
Esther Yi, MA.
Email: estheryi@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Kong, Dong-Kwan
Seunghye Yu (Lee), Ph.D.
Email: seunghye@hawaii.edu
Advisor: Sohn, Homin
 

Comments are closed.


East Asian Languages & Literatures

1890 East-West Road
Honolulu, HI 96822
Phone: (808) 956-8940
Fax: (808) 956-9515
Email: eall@hawaii.edu
The University of Hawaiʻi is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Institution
©2018 Department of East Asian Languages & Literatures
Facebook
Follow by Email
LinkedIn