Graduate Students [Japanese]

 

James Almony, MA. in Japanese Literature

Email: almonyj@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Ito, Ken

 

Quillon Arkenstone, Ph.D. in Japanese Literature

Email:  quillon@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Cohn, Joel

 

Yunchuan Chen, Ph.D. in Japanese Linguistics

Email:  chenyunc@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Fukuda, Shinichiro

Research interests: Japanese and Chinese syntax; generative approaches to L2 acquisition

Malgorzata Citko, Ph.D. in Japanese Literature

Email: mcitko@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Huey, Robert

Research Interests: Ancient and Medieval Japanese Court Poetry (Waka),Traditional Poetry Criticism, Reception and Appropriation of Antiquity in Medieval Japan, Rokujo and Mikohidari poetic houses, and fluidity of texts
Sean Forte, Ph.D. in Japanese Linguistics

Email:  sforte@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Yoshimi, Dina

Research interests: Japanese Pedagogy, Pragmatics, Sociocultural Theory and Second Language Development,
Socialization, Language Socialization, and Classroom Ecology, Practice, Interaction, and Discourse
Masumi Hamada, Ph.D. in Japanese Linguistics

Email: masumiha@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Kanno, Kazue

 

Vera Hanaoka, Ph.D. in Japanese Linguistics

Email:  vera2@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Yoshimi, Dina

Research interests: Japanese language pedagogy, Discourse analysis, Learner identity

Keiko Hata, Ph.D. in Japanese Linguistics

Email:  keiko3@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Kanno, Kazue

Research interests: Japanese Syntax, Psycholinguistics, L1 & L2 Acquisition

Kunihiko Homma, Ph.D. in Japanese Linguistics

Email: khomma@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Cook, Haruko

Research interests: Sociolinguistics, Japanese as a Heritage Language, Pragmatics,
Japanese pedagogy, Discourse analysis, Linguistic Landscape
Ryan Hughes, Ph.D. in Japanese Linguistics

Email:  rc37@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Fukuda, Shinichiro

 

Maiko Ikeda, Ph.D. in Japanese Linguistics

Email:  maikoi@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Cook, Haruko

 

Tomoki Kimura, Ph.D. in Japanese Literature

Email: tomoki3@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Ito, Ken

Research interests: Discourse on monolingualism in Japanese literature,
Representations of the Japanese diaspora in literature, Cultural studies
Lynn Lethin, MA. in Japanese Linguistics

Email:  lethin@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Cook, Haruko

Research interests:  Sociolinguistics

Andrew Long, MA. in Japanese Linguistics

Email:  along8@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Kanno, Kazue

 

Harumi Maeda, Ph.D. in Japanese Linguistics

Email:  harumim@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Yoshimi, Dina

 

Kristyn Martin, Ph.D. in Japanese Linguistics

Email:  kristynm@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Cook, Haruko

 

Koyuki Mitani, Ph.D. in Japanese Linguistics

Email:  kmitani@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Cook, Haruko

 

Kana Morimoto, MA. in Japanese Linguistics

Email:  kanam@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Cook, Haruko

 

Ryler Nielsen, MA. in Japanese Linguistics

Email: rylerjn@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Cook, Haruko

Research interests: Japanese Linguistics: pedagogy, sociolinguistics,
Ryukyuan Languages: pedagogy, documentation, technology
Yoshiaki Otta, Ph.D. in Japanese Literature

Email: yotta@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Ito, Ken

 

Francesca Pizarro, Ph.D. in Japanese Literature

Email: fpizarro@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Ito, Ken

Research interests:  Meiji & Taisho period literature, shōjo fiction, women’s studies, girls’ studies

Hilson Reidpath, Ph.D. in Japanese Literature

Email:  hilson4@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Huey, Robert

Research interests: Okinawan Literature, Race in Japan

 

Ching Shek, MA. in Japanese Linguistics

Email:  cshek@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Cook, Haruko

 

Kenichi Shinkuma, MA. in Japanese Linguistics

Email:  shinkuma@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Cook, Haruko

Research interests: Sociolinguistics, Dialectology, Syntax, and Pragmatics

Amy Shiroma, MA. in Japanese Linguistics

Email:  ats22@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Kanno, Kazue

Research interests: Japanese Linguistics

Nana Suzumura, Ph.D. in Japanese Linguistics

Email: nanasuzu@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Kondo-Brown, Kimi

Justin Tanaka, Ph.D. in Japanese Linguistics

Email:  jtanaka2@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Fukuda, Shinichiro

 

Kati Vasconcellos, MA. in Japanese Linguistics

Email:  klvascon@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Kanno, Kazue

 

Ruri Yoshii, Ph.D. in Japanese Linguistics

Email:  ruriy@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Yoshimi, Dina

 

Keely Zabonik, MA. in Japanese Linguistics

Email: zabonik@hawaii.edu

Advisor: Vance, Timothy

Research interests: Phonology; phonetics; second language acquisition; dialectology

 

Comments are closed.


East Asian Languages & Literatures

1890 East-West Road
Honolulu, HI 96822
Phone: (808) 956-8940
Fax: (808) 956-9515
Email: eall@hawaii.edu
The University of Hawaiʻi is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Institution
©2017 Department of East Asian Languages & Literatures
Facebook
Follow by Email
LinkedIn