Beta Phi Mu, Xi Chapter Executive Board

President: Suzanne Uratani

Suzanne Uratani graduated from the University of Hawaii with an MLISc in December 2004. Since her undergraduate degree is a BFA in Visual Design, she is as interested in book jacket design and typography as what is between the covers. Suzanne wasn't a latchkey child, but rather - a LIBRARY kid. She spent many happy hours in the Edna Allyn Room of the main public library in Honolulu. Suzanne is happiest helping people find the answers they need whether they're looking for a book, information or trying to get a security clearance.


This position is currently vacant.

Secretary: Christian DeLay

Christian DeLay is the Program Coordinator for the Library & Information Science Program at the University of Hawaii. He received his MLISc from the University Of Hawaii and his undergraduate degree in Telecommunications and Film from the University of Oregon.

Treasurer: Diane Todd

Diane Todd received her MLISc from the University of Hawaii at Manoa in 2004. She was the ALA-Student Chapter Treasurer so she finds a delightful symmetry in becoming the Beta Phi Mu Treasurer. Following graduation, Diane worked as a Children's Librarian at Mililani Public Library for over three years. Now she goes to storytime with her daughter Natalia.

Events Chair: Jan Kamiya

Jan Tamiko Kamiya is currently the Young Adult Librarian at the Manoa Public Library. She began her library career as a Library Assistant III at the Hawaii State Library after receiving her B.A. in English and a minor in Music from the University of Hawaii at Manoa. Her favorite LIS classes were Intellectual Freedom and the History of the Book (Another Hysterical Librarian for Freedom!). When not in librarian mode, Jan is a mezzo-soprano for the Hawaii Opera Theatre Chorus.

Scholarship Committee Chair: Carole Suzui

Carole Sumiko Suzui is the State Data Coordinator for the Hawaii State Public Library System. Her responsibilities include keeping statistics on each branch library's collection, circulation, and programs. She earned her MLISc from the University of Hawaii at Manoa in December 2004. She enjoys ringing English handbells with her church bell choir and running in local races.

Faculty Advisor: Andrew B. Wertheimer, PhD

Dr. Andrew B. Wertheimer joined the University of Hawaii LIS Program faculty in 2003. He was an adjunct professor at San Jose State University SLIS and a librarian and archivist at the Universities of Wisconsin and Nebraska, spertus Institute for Jewish studies, and Lincoln Public Libraries. He was inducted into Beta Phi Mu by the University of Wisconsin's Beta Beta Epsilon chapter after completing his PhD there. He is pleased to be Xi Chapter's faculty advisor. Dr. Wertheimer is the recipient of the 2007 Vann Award.