aspph logo

The University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa’s Office of Public Health Studies has signed on as a founding member of the newly formed Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health. ASPPH connects public health schools and programs accredited by the Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH).

Officially launched August 1, 2013, ASPPH is the successor to the Association of Schools of Public Health, which represented the 50 CEPH-accredited public health schools and eight associate members.

Jay Maddock

Jay Maddock

“Joining this association will help ensure that our students receive a world-class education in public health through access to the newest tools and resources and have access to fellowships only open to member institutions,” said Director of the Office of Public Health Studies Jay Maddock. “Also, our faculty will have a voice on the direction of public health education and policy nationwide and will be able to represent our unique geography and diversity.”

The move to bring schools and programs under one umbrella has been embraced by both CEPH-accredited schools and programs of public health. To date, more than one-third of the 101 CEPH-accredited public health programs have joined as founding members of ASPPH, which will continue to work to bring in all CEPH-accredited programs of public health.

“This is a seminal moment in CEPH-accredited public health education,” said ASPPH President and CEO Harrison Spencer. “Representing both accredited schools and programs of public health gives the association and our members an opportunity to strengthen public health education, research, teaching and practice.”

Read the UH Mānoa news release for more.