Skip to content
Reading time: 2 minutes

The Candidate Advisory Council for the Board of Regents of the University of Hawaiʻi has presented a list of candidates to Governor Neil Abercrombie to fill three City and County of Honolulu seats and one student seat on the University of Hawaiʻi Board of Regents for terms beginning July 1, 2014.

The regents whose terms will end on June 30, 2014 are Student Regent Jeffrey Acido and City and County of Honolulu Regents John Holzman and James Lee. In addition, Regent Jeffrey Portnoy is currently serving on an interim appointment and, if confirmed by the Hawaiʻi State Senate, will also serve through June 30th.

The Board of Regents is the governing body of the University of Hawaiʻi and consists of 15 members. Representation includes 7 from the City and County of Honolulu; 2 from the Hawaiʻi County; 2 from the Maui County; 1 from the Kauaʻi County; 2 At Large and 1 University of Hawaiʻi student.

The Candidate Advisory Council was created after the passage of the Hawaiʻi Board of Regents Candidates Act, a 2006 legislatively-referred constitutional amendment. Hawaiʻi voters overwhelmingly cast their votes to require the governor to select Board of Regents candidates from a pool of qualified candidates screened and proposed by the Candidate Advisory Council.

All candidate lists are compiled only after the Candidate Advisory Council completes its comprehensive review and selection process, which is solely and exclusively merit-based. The council adheres strictly to procedures that are set forth in either state statutes or the council’s administrative rules.

The Candidate Advisory Council began this recruitment cycle during early fall 2013. Council members personally recruited candidates and contacted and encouraged government, business, and community leaders to nominate regent candidates. The council placed print advertisements and issued press releases encouraging applications.

The finalists for the Board of Regents seats are as follows:

City and County of Honolulu Seat (currently filled by John Holzman)

  • Peter Adler
  • Russel Nagata
  • Stanford Yuen

City and County of Honolulu Seat (currently filled by James Lee)

  • Walter Kirimitsu
  • James Lee
  • Lee Putnam
  • Keith Vieira

City and County of Honolulu Seat (currently filled by Jeffrey Portnoy)

  • Brian Panik
  • Jeffrey Portnoy
  • Eric Seitz

Student Seat (currently filled by Jeffrey Acido)

  • Jori-Anne Jasper
  • Priya Rashid
  • Michelle Tagorda

Candidate Advisory Council Chair Thomas Ramsey expressed his appreciation to the many individuals who applied during this recruitment period and encourages those not selected to re-apply during future recruitments.

Members of the Board of Regents as well as the Candidate Advisory Council serve voluntarily and are not paid.

&#8212A Candidate Advisory Council news release

Back To Top