Car driving through flooded street

The Honolulu City Council has confirmed three University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa faculty members to serve on the city’s Climate Change Commission. All three were appointed by Honolulu Mayor Kirk Caldwell.

They are:

  • Rosie Alegado, Department of Oceanography and the Center for Microbial Oceanography: Research and Education
  • Makena Coffman, Department of Urban and Regional Planning and UH Economic Research Organization
  • Chip Fletcher, School Of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology

The role of the commission is to gather the latest science and information on climate change impacts to Hawaiʻi, and to provide advice and recommendations to the mayor, the city council and the executive departments of the city that will draft policy and planning for future climate scenarios.

UH Mānoa is proud to have three of our internationally-known researchers and educators appointed to this important commission. Their appointment is a reflection both of the quality and relevance of their work, and the commitment of the university to provide science-based advice to the community,” said Michael Bruno, UH Mānoa vice chancellor for research.

Other members of the commission include:

  • Victoria Keener, East-West Center
  • Bettina Mehnert, AHL

“Our office is thrilled that Mayor Caldwell has appointed this diverse group of global and local climate experts to this important commission, and that they have agreed to serve,” said Josh Stanbro, executive director of the city Office of Climate Change, Sustainability and Resiliency, who also serves as the city’s chief resilience officer.

people holding up their hands for swearing in ceremony
University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa’s Rosie Alegado, Makena Coffman and Chip Fletcher are sworn in to the city’s Climate Change Commission. (Photo courtesy of the Honolulu mayor’s office)

Related UH News stories: