Waipahu High School Early College Phi Theta Kappa inductees

Waipahu High School students are bucking financial barriers and taking control of their future with college-level achievements that put them among the ranks of Leeward Community College’s best. In March, 28 Early College students were inducted into Leeward CC’s prestigious Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society.

Through the Early College program, the students had access to college-level classes that qualified them to be honor society members. The society accepts only top-performing college students, with minimum requirements that include a 3.5 or higher cumulative GPA and the successful completion of at least 12 semester hours in 100-level or above courses.

Phi Theta Kappa membership provides financial benefits—members have access to $35 million in transfer scholarships to more than 600 senior colleges, automatic nomination to the prestigious National Dean’s List and a myriad of other advantages and recognition opportunities that will help jumpstart their careers on a path to success.

The students also received financial support for the honor society’s membership fees from a Waipahu Community Foundation grant that assists Title I, lower-income students.

“We continue to be impressed with the academic achievements of Waipahu’s Early College students,” said Leeward CC Chancellor Manny Cabral. “Principal Keith Hayashi and coordinator Mark Silliman have set high standards that their students not only reach, but often surpass. Congratulations to all.”

Waipahu High School’s standout students are joining the ranks of high-performing, college-level stars—before they’ve even collected their high school diploma.

Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society’s newest members are: Kasey Ines, Gwyneth Mae Malvar, Hazel Anne Lu, Jayson Padilla, Cherie Ganal, Alicia Acosta, Fevee Kate Camit, Jasmyn Ann Carlos, Francois Camit, Jessica San Pedro, Inri Balcobero, Rianne Christel Tangonan, Richael Lyn Ramos, Andrea Nicole Butay, Tara Sumida, Kyra Anne Martinez, Pink Mariz Felipe, Alden Dominic Paroni, Rochelle Anne Lopez, Cielo Anne Carnate, Jerome Carl Castillo, Wilma Calimag, Marie Claire Agoto, Hannah Mae Amores, Meagan Heather Apostol, Nicole Daguimol, Zyrill Dayne Dela Cruz, Daniel John Quiamas.

—By Kathleen Cabral