Cover of a U H Manoa diploma with a white tassel and plumeria

In recognition of the state’s two official languages, the University of Hawaiʻi‘s 10 campuses will begin issuing their graduates two diplomas—one in English and one in Hawaiian—during the 2017–18 academic year.

Most UH campuses will begin implementing the new two-diploma practice in 2018. All campuses will be issuing two diplomas as a standard practice by the 2018–19 academic year.

“My thanks to Maui College Chancellor Lui Hokoana for raising this opportunity with the Council of Chancellors,” said UH President David Lassner. “All of our campus leaders strongly supported this new practice, an important step forward in our work to be a model indigenous-serving university.”

“The issuance of two UH diplomas moves the University of Hawaiʻi closer to its goal of fostering and promoting the use of Hawaiian language at parity with English throughout the UH system,” added Gail Mililani Makuakāne-Lundin, director of the UH Office of Hawaiʻi Papa O Ke Ao.

Hawaiian language diplomas have been offered for an additional diploma fee. Under the new two-diploma practice, students will only be assessed the standard single-diploma fee by their respective campuses. Students who have already paid the additional fee for a Hawaiian language diploma this academic year may obtain a refund from their campus registrar’s office.