10 peope, some wearing lei
Alpha Beta Epsilon members at the 2018 Phi Alpha Theta National Biennial Convention, from left, Shirley Buchanan, Mei Xu, J. Uluwehi Hopkins, Bryan Pope, Max Velasquez, Catherine ʻĪmaikalani Ulep, Mason Nakadomari, Chelsea DeMott, Lee English and Jason Liang.

Alpha Beta Epsilon, the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa chapter of Phi Alpha Theta National History Honor Society, has been named national Best Chapter (Division V) for 2018. This is the fourth time that Alpha Beta Epsilon has won the prestigious national award.

Phi Alpha Theta, a U.S. honor society for undergraduate and graduate students and professors of history, has more than 400,000 members, with approximately 9,500 new members joining each year through 970 local chapters.

The Alpha Beta Epsilon chapter at UH Mānoa was started in 1984 by Robert McGlone. The current faculty advisors are Associate Professor Peter H. Hoffenberg, Professor Karen Jolly and Assistant Professor Cheehyung Harrison Kim.

Active in the academic community, the UH Mānoa chapter is helping organize the 35th Annual Hawaiʻi Regional Meeting of Phi Alpha Theta on March 9, 2019, where members will be sharing their research and presentations. The chapter also works to raise funds for its students to travel to conferences and conduct research in archives around the world.

“The commitment of our students is the cornerstone of the chapter and key to our success,” said chapter officer Shirley Buchanan. “We are proud to once again receive the honor of Best Chapter among universities around the country.”

If you would like to learn about membership or how you can support the chapter, please contact Alpha Beta Epsilon at patmanoa@hawaii.edu.