group of people
Front row, from left, Mark Ladao and Nicole Tam. Middle row, from left, Ka Leo adviser Marc Arakaki, Chavonnie Ramos and Doris Kung, Media Lab Director Sherrie White, Lecturer Bernadette Baraquio and Professor Ann Auman. Back row, Bronson Doria.

For the second year in a row, journalism students from the School of Communications in the College of Social Sciences swept the student category in the statewide Society of Professional Journalists’ Excellence in Journalism competition. In total, the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa students took home 23 awards, including 8 first-place honors.

Students published the work in a variety of venues, including classroom channels, such as Hoʻa Oʻahu and UHMtv; Ka Leo O Hawaiʻi, the UH Mānoa campus newspaper; and various internships at professional media organizations in the state and nationally.

First-place winners were:

  • Katie Boon, “Goat Hunters Say States Aerial Shooting Threatens a Traditional Food Source,” Student News Reporting in Any Media, Civil Beat internship.
  • Darryl Kaneyuki, “The Future of Recycling,” Student Feature Reporting in Any Media, Hawaiʻi Business Magazine internship.
  • Jocelyn Grandinetti, Algeo Rosario and Chavonnie Ramos, “The fight to protect Mauna a Wakea continues,” Student Spot News in Any Media, Ka Leo O Hawaiʻi.
  • Nicole Tam, “Maternity Tourism in Hawaiʻi,” Student Investigative Reporting in Any Media, Hoʻa Oʻahu/Hawaiʻi Business Magazine.
  • Harrison Patino, “Gambling for Gamers,” Student Video News, UHMtv.
  • Megan Lucas, “Many Ways to Move, People Stories,” Student Photography, Journalism 200 blog.
  • Ronnie Allen Campman, Sami Sexton and Keila Lee, “Challenges Unconventional Organizations that Support Kids with ASD Face,” Best Multimedia Presentation, Journalism 200 blog.
  • Doris Kung, “Ocean Safe Fashion,” Informational Graphics, Hoʻa Oʻahu.

For a complete list of other UH Mānoa student honorees including finalist awards, go to the College of Social Sciences website.