six women wearing lei
AAUW Hilo Branch scholarship winners, from left, Shantel Akau, Kailee Yoshimura, Annalise Cogan, Heather Padilla, Skye Narvaez, Ariana Dolan. Not pictured: Mya Goodoni and Annabelle Mufalli. (Photo credit: AAUW)

The American Association of University Women (AAUW) Hilo Branch awarded $8,000 in scholarships to six women attending the University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo and two attending Hawaiʻi Community College.

AAUW is a national organization that promotes equity and education for women and girls. For more than 65 years the Hilo Branch of AAUW has been assisting women and girls to achieve self-realization through education.

UH Hilo recipients

  • Shantel Akau plans on becoming a registered nurse and hopes to earn a graduate degree in nursing and become an advanced practice registered nurse.
  • Skye Narvaez will be graduating with her bachelors in communication and certificate in educational studies in fall 2019. Narvaez plans on pursuing a master’s and doctorate in education.
  • Heather Padilla plans to become an English teacher with a certificate in creative writing.
  • Ariana Dolan is pursuing a bachelor of science in agriculture specializing in animal science and is also obtaining a beekeeping certificate. She plans on pursuing a doctorate in veterinary science.
  • Maya Goodoni has a bachelor of arts in environmental studies from UH Hilo and is currently enrolled in the tropical conservation biology and environmental science graduate program.
  • Kailee Yoshimura is working on her bachelor of science in biology and hopes to continue to medical school and become a radiologist.

Hawaiʻi CC recipients

  • Annalise Cogan will be earning her associate of science degree in nursing and wants to pursue a master of science degree so she can become a nurse educator.
  • Annabelle Mufalli is enrolled in the architectural engineering and CAD (computer aided design) technology program and plans to continue her education at a four-year UH campus.

For more go to UH Hilo Stories.

—From the AAUW Hilo Branch website