Skip to content
Reading time: 2 minutes

UH seal in System gold

The Candidate Advisory Council (CAC) for the University of Hawaiʻi Board of Regents has presented a list of candidates to Gov. David Ige to fill one Maui County seat for a 5-year appointment and one student seat for a 2-year appointment, beginning July 1, 2020, subject to confirmation by the Hawaiʻi State Senate.

The finalists for these seats are:

Maui County seat

  1. Sheri-Ann P. Daniels
  2. Leslee D. Matthews
  3. Ernest K. Wilson

Student seat

  1. Kelli K.K. Acopan
  2. Richard J.M. Aglugub
  3. David B. Enriquez
  4. Racquel S.D. Raneses

Finalist biographies are available online.

CAC began accepting applications to fill these vacancies in the fall by contacting and encouraging government, business and community leaders to nominate candidates. The council also placed print advertisements and issued news releases encouraging applications.

All applications were reviewed and screened by all CAC members. CAC is statutorily responsible for conducting recruitment efforts, accepting and screening applications, interviewing candidates and submitting to the governor the names of nominees willing to serve as regents of the UH System, which is a voluntary non-compensated public appointment.

Candidate lists are compiled after a comprehensive review and selection process, which is solely and exclusively merit-based and according to procedures set forth in state statutes and the council’s administrative rules.

“The Candidate Advisory Council members thank all of the individuals who applied for these seats on the Board of Regents. We are pleased to submit these names for consideration to the governor,” said chair Brigitte Yoshino.

The Board of Regents is the governing body of UH and consists of twelve (12) members. Representation includes six (6) from the City and County of Honolulu; two (2) from Hawaiʻi County; two (2) from Maui County; one (1) from Kauaʻi County; and one (1) UH student.

Back To Top