Skip to content
Reading time: < 1 minute


This message was shared with the students, faculty, and staff of the 10-campus University of Hawaiʻi system on March 20, 2020.


In response to the COVID-19 health crisis, the 10 campuses of the University of Hawaiʻi are closed, effective immediately, to everyone except current students and employees.

Clarification: UH campuses are closed to the public but are still conducting business. Deliveries, emergency vehicles, trash collectors, postal service, police and contractors are still permitted on UH campuses. The Office of Communications apologizes for any confusion.

The UH campuses are UH Mānoa, UH Hilo, UH West Oʻahu, UH Maui College, Leeward Community College, Kapiʻolani CC, Honolulu CC, Windward CC, Kauaʻi CC and Hawaiʻi CC.

This is the latest step being taken for the health and safety of UH students and employees. The university announced on March 18 that it is transitioning to an online delivery of courses for the remainder of the spring semester. The closure of public-facing facilities and establishment of a process for employees to work remotely from home are in effect. Employees who are working on campus and students who come to campus or reside in student housing are instructed to practice social distancing.

See the latest UH COVID-19 announcements and resources. You can also head to for updates.

University of Hawaiʻi

Back To Top