Skip to content
Reading time: < 1 minute
Kudo, Moore, Nahale-a
From left, Ben Kudo, Randy Moore and Alapaki Nahale-a

The University of Hawaiʻi Board of Regents re-elected Ben Kudo as chair and elected Randy Moore and Alapaki Nahale-a as vice chairs for one-year terms at the July 16 meeting.

“I want to express my thanks and appreciation to all of you for the confidence you have shown in electing myself and Vice Chairs Randy Moore and Alapaki Nahale-a,” said Kudo after being re-elected, who then thanked the vice chairs who just completed their one year terms, Jan Sullivan and Wayne Higaki. “It was a rough year, and I assume that the current year is not going to be any easier. We had some pretty challenging times and we were able to stay the course and it was a tribute to my two vice chairs.”

In other UH Board of Regents news, the state Legislature approved a second five-year term for Maui County Regent Ernest Wilson and approved a second two-year term for Student Regent Kelli K.K. Acopan.

The governing body of the University of Hawaiʻi System is composed of 11 regents, nominated by the Regents Candidate Advisory Council, appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Legislature. They serve for staggered terms, without compensation.

The board formulates policy and exercises control over the university through its executive officer, the university president. The board has exclusive jurisdiction over the internal structure, management and operation of the university.

Back To Top