Skip to content
Reading time: 2 minutes

screenshot of Written in the Stars story

Journalism students in the School of Communications in the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa College of Social Sciences took home 23 awards in eight categories in the Society of Professional Journalists Hawaii Chapter Excellence in Journalism competition. The annual statewide event recognizes the best in journalism in Hawaiʻi. For the last three years, UH Mānoa journalism students have had a strong showing in the contest, winning nearly every award in the student categories.

Awardees by category

Student News Reporting in Any Media

  • 1st Place: Eunica Escalante, “Written in the Stars”
  • 3rd Place: Tyne Phillips, “Innovative Healthcare”

Student Feature Reporting in Any Media

  • 1st Place: Tracy Kim, “Lead by Faith”
  • 2nd Place: Carina Nocon, “Suicide Awareness”
  • 3rd Place: Chavonnie Ramos, “Hawaii Youth Strikes Back”

Student Spot News in Any Media

  • 1st Place: Kirsten Sibley, “Sinking the sinkhole in Kailua”
  • 2nd Place: Ashley Adriano and Mara Mahoney, “A DeTour of Hawaiʻi
  • 3rd Place: Kirsten Sibley, “Firearms in Films”

Student Investigative Reporting in Any Media

  • 1st Place: Clarissa Gonzales, Mark Anthony Ladao and Tyne Phillips, “Crime Cameras in Waikīkī”
  • 2nd Place: Geneva Diaz, “Hale Mahana residents say mold caused problems”
  • 3rd Place: Adara Pineda, “Sea Burials, an affordable and eco-friendly alternative for families in Hawaiʻi

Student Video News

  • 1st Place: Shafkat Anowar and Chavonnie Ramos, “RECAP: Day One of TMT construction near Maunakea”
  • 2nd Place: Keila Lee, “DACA Dreamers”
  • 3rd Place: Ronnie Allen Campman, “Red Flag Law”

Student Photography

  • 1st Place: Sofia Luczak, “Greatest Carnival in Hawaiʻi
  • 2nd Place: Liam Thropp, “Chinatown”
  • 3rd Place: Adrien Ace, “Honi between HFD Captain Ocean Kaowili and King Kamehameha”

Best Multimedia Presentation

  • 1st Place: Liam Thropp, “The Full Scope of Your Plastic Usage”
  • 2nd Place: Mara Mahoney, “The Pacific Voices Program”
  • 3rd Place: Shannon Manamtam, “Art and Science Collide in Newly Restored Monolith”

Informational Graphics

  • 1st Place: Alisha Churma, “Trash Talk: UH staff and activists move away from disposable waste”
  • 2nd Place: Katie Boon, “Hawaii Dodges Measles”
  • 3rd Place: Cassie Ordonio, Lindsay Rees, Sophia Compton and Christian Navarro, “Pawn Shops Decline on Oahu”

Visit the Society of Professional Journalists Hawaii Chapter website for a complete list of awardees.

screenshot of photo of sinkhole in Kailua

Back To Top