Skip to content
Reading time: < 1 minute
r c u h recipients
The 2020 RCUH Outstanding Employees of the Year recipients

The Research Corporation of the University of Hawaiʻi (RCUH) announced its 2020 RCUH Outstanding Employees of the Year Awards on November 2. RCUH recognized 17 outstanding employees who made significant and exemplary contributions to their projects during the past fiscal year or years.

“Congratulations to our 2020 RCUH outstanding employee award winners. Your commitment and dedication to research, training and development in the State of Hawaiʻi is greatly appreciated,” said Leonard Gouveia, RCUH executive director.

Outstanding Researcher/Project Manager/Professional Staff

  • First-place: David Cohen, aquatic invasive species biocontrol specialist, UH Mānoa, College of Natural Sciences
  • Second-place: Michael von Platen, TCR systems programmer, UH Mānoa, John A. Burns School of Medicine
  • Honorable mentions: Fritzie Celino-Brady, UH Mānoa, College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources; Serge Chastel, UH Institute for Astronomy; Stan Fichtman, Kapiʻolani CC; Mark Huber, UH Institute for Astronomy; Dawn Namahoe Sidman, UH Hilo Research Office

Outstanding Project Support Staff

  • First-place: Yoshitake Nabeshima, Subaru Telescope
  • Second-place: Hope Ronco, UH Mānoa, School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology
  • Honorable mentions: Mary Jo Riehm, UH Hilo Research Office; Sean Tanimoto, Applied Research Laboratory at the University of Hawaiʻi

Outstanding Team

  • First-place: Maunakea Weather Center
  • Second-place: Applied Research Laboratory at the University of Hawaiʻi

Visit the RCUH website for a complete list of awardees.

Back To Top