Skip to content
Reading time: 2 minutes

UH seal in System gold

The Candidate Advisory Council (CAC) for the University of Hawaiʻi Board of Regents has presented a list of candidates to Gov. David Ige to fill two Honolulu County seats for 5-year appointments, beginning July 1, 2021, subject to confirmation by the Hawaiʻi State Senate.

The finalists for these seats are:

One (1) Honolulu County seat

  1. William M. Kaneko
  2. Gabriel S.H. Lee
  3. William C. Melohn
  4. Diane S.L. Paloma
  5. Laurie A. Tochiki

One (1) Honolulu County seat

  1. William F. Haning, III
  2. William C. Melohn
  3. Diane S.L. Paloma
  4. Laurie A. Tochiki
  5. Benjamin E. Trevino

Finalist biographies are available at

CAC began accepting applications to fill this vacancy in early fall by contacting and encouraging government, business, and community leaders to nominate candidates. The council also placed print advertisements and issued news releases encouraging applications. 

All applications were thoroughly and comprehensively reviewed and screened by all CAC members. CAC is statutorily responsible for conducting recruitment efforts, accepting and screening applications, interviewing candidates and submitting to the governor the names of nominees willing to serve as regents of the University of Hawaiʻi System, which is a voluntary non-compensated public appointment. 

Candidate lists were compiled after a comprehensive review and selection process, which is solely and exclusively merit-based and according to procedures set forth in state statutes and the council’s administrative rules. 

“The Candidate Advisory Council thanks all of the individuals who applied for these seats on the UH Board of Regents. This is an unprecedented time in the university’s history, and we are pleased to submit these highly qualified names for consideration to the governor,” said Chair Brigitte Yoshino. 

The Board of Regents is the governing body of the University of Hawaiʻi and consists of eleven (11) members. Representation includes five (5) from the City and County of Honolulu; two (2) from Hawaiʻi County; two (2) from Maui County; one (1) from Kauaʻi County; and one (1) University of Hawaiʻi student.

Members of the CAC serve voluntarily and are not paid.

Back To Top