Skip to content
Reading time: 2 minutes
Reyan E. Lee
Reyan E. Lee

Leeward Community College Early College student, Reyan E. Lee, was recently recognized with a scholarship by the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK). She has been named one of 50, 2021 Coca-Cola Academic Team Gold Scholars in the nation and will receive a $1,500 scholarship

Lee is one of many Waipahu High School “Olympians” who will earn associate’s degrees from Leeward CC this spring. Her degree is an associate in science in natural science, engineering. Early College provides students with the opportunity to take college courses at their high school campus and earn dual credit from both high school and college for courses completed. Student participation in dual-credit programs, such as Early College, grew more than threefold from the Class of 2011 to the Class of 2017 from 5% to 17%.

“The University of Hawaiʻi congratulates Reyan and all the Early College graduates who have put in the hard work to earn their college degrees while still in high school,” said UH Vice President for Community Colleges Erika Lacro. “These students have a jumpstart on college success, while saving their families two-years or more of college tuition.”

PTK is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges and helping them grow as scholars and leaders.The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation partners with PTK and sponsors the Coca-Cola Academic Team program by recognizing 50 Gold, 50 Silver and 50 Bronze Scholars with nearly $200,000 in scholarships annually. Each scholar also receives a commemorative medallion.

“We’re all so proud of Reyan for her many accolades,” said Waipahu High School Principal Keith Hayashi. “She’s one of 18 Waipahu High Olympians and the first in the state earning her associate’s degree in natural science, engineering; a 2021 United States Presidential Scholar Candidate and Presidential Scholar Candidate in CTE; a national merit finalist; and now a PTK Coca-Cola Academic Gold Team Scholar. As an active member of Waipahu High School’s PTK Chapter, Beta Chi Omega, Reyan proudly represents Waipahu High School, Leeward Community College and the state of Hawaiʻi.”

Students are nominated for the academic team by their college administrators. Selection is based on academic achievement, leadership and engagement in college and community service.

“We thank the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation for recognizing these student leaders and for investing in their futures,” Lynn Tincher-Ladner, president and CEO of PTK said in a release. “Scholarships like these are integral to the success of these students in reaching their educational and career goals.”

PTK is made up of more than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in 11 nations, with approximately 240,000 active members in the nation’s colleges.

Back To Top