5 U H volleyball players

The University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa men’s volleyball team led the way with five players named to the National Volleyball Association (NVA)/American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) All-America teams, including first-teamers Patrick Gasman, Rado Parapunov and Gage Worsley.

Outside hitter Colton Cowell was named to the second team while setter Jakob Thelle was an honorable mention.

Parapunov and Worsley became the program’s third and fourth players to earn three career first-team awards.

Parapunov, the two-time Big West Player of the Year, was also named AVCA National Player of the Year, making him one of three players to win the award in program history.

The five honorees are tied for the most in a single-season in program history along with 2015, 2018 and 2019 teams, while the three, first-team selections are tied for the second-most in program history.

The Rainbow Warriors are the top seed in this week’s NCAA Tournament, which is being held in Columbus, Ohio. UH will face UC Santa Barbara in the semifinals on Thursday, May 6.

For more go to the UH Mānoa athletics website.