Skip to content
Reading time: 2 minutes

Amber Kaufman, Colt Brennan, Robert Kekaula, Edwin Wong

National champion high jumper Amber Kaufman, Heisman Trophy finalist Colt Brennan, broadcaster Robert Kekaula and founding member of Nā Koa Football Club Edwin Wong are members of the 38th class of the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Athletics Department’s UH Sports Circle of Honor.

The Class of 2021 will be officially enshrined during Homecoming weekend October 1–2. In addition, a special half hour show featuring the class will air on KHON-TV on Sunday, October 10 at 7 p.m., and on KHII on Sunday, October 17 at 6:30 p.m.

2021 Circle of Honor Class inductees

Two-sport athlete Kaufman was an All-American in volleyball (2006–09) and track and field (2007–10). She was the NCAA Outdoor champion in the high jump, becoming UH’s first athlete to win a national title in 26 years. Kaufman led the women’s volleyball team to the 2009 NCAA Championship semifinals and was the recipient of the 2010 Joe Kearney Award as the Western Athletic Conference’s top athlete. More on Kaufman.

The most celebrated player in program history, the late Brennan broke or tied 31 NCAA records upon completion of his three-year career, including career touchdown passes (131), single-season touchdown passes (58 in 2006) and most touchdowns responsible for in a career (146). Brennan finished third in the Heisman Trophy voting, was a finalist for the Johnny Unitas Award in 2007 and was named third-team Associated Press All-American. More on Brennan.

A Hawaiʻi sports media legend, the late Kekaula called UH football games on television and radio for more than a quarter century. He served as play-by-play announcer for Spectrum Sports television (2011–20) and was the color analyst on KKEA Radio (ESPN Honolulu) and KFVETV (1992–2010). Kekaula spent more than two decades as the sports director at KITV in addition to stints as news anchor, weekend sports anchor and managing editor. More on Kekaula.

Past president and founding member of the Nā Koa Football Club, the late Wong served as the club’s president and on the boards of various UH organizations, including the UH Board of Trustees, the UH President’s Club and the UH Alumni Association. He was the 2001 recipient of the Honolulu Quarterback Club’s Scotty Schuman Award. Wong was a successful businessman, who rose to senior vice president of Alexander & Baldwin and served as chairman, president and CEO of Waterhouse, Inc. More on Wong.

The Circle of Honor started in 1982 to recognize individuals and teams who have contributed to the growth, history and tradition of UH Athletics. The total number of inductees in the Circle of Honor is 127 individuals and 12 teams, including this year’s honorees. Plaques honoring the individuals and teams are anchored on the inner walls surrounding the main concourse of SimpliFi Arena at Stan Sheriff Center.

Learn more at the UH Mānoa athletics website.

Back To Top