Skip to content
Reading time: 2 minutes
group photo of award winners
UH Mānoa 2020, 2021 and 2022 award winners.

The University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa recognized its finest faculty, staff and students with various teaching, research and service awards at its first in-person Mānoa Awards Ceremony since 2019.

The 2022 UH Mānoa Awards Ceremony was held on Monday, May 2 at 3:30 p.m. at Kennedy Theatre.

President David Lassner and Provost Michael Bruno honored the 2020, 2021 and 2022 awardees and celebrate the accomplishments of these individuals. A live video stream of the event will be available.

During the ceremony, there was also be a special recognition of the UH COVID-19 Health and Well-Being Working Group and Reinhold Penner of the UH Cancer Center for their COVID-19 campus efforts.

Read more on UH News about our 2020 and 2021 UH Mānoa Award winners.

2022 UH Mānoa Awards winners

Board of Regents Medal for Excellence in Teaching

  • Troy J.H. Andrade, associate professor, law
  • Daniel Harris-McCoy, associate professor, classics
  • Peiling Kao, associate professor, theatre and dance
  • Kyra Anne Len, associate professor, pediatrics
  • Bridget Smith-Konter, professor, Earth sciences
  • Wei Zhang, professor, sociology

Board of Regents Medal for Excellence in Research

  • Brian Popp, professor, Earth sciences
  • Rui Sun, assistant professor, chemistry
  • Xudong Sun, assistant astronomer, astronomy

Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

  • Justin W. Walguarnery, assistant professor, biology

Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching (Graduate Assistant)

  • Hoa Le, graduate teaching assistant, second languages studies

Robert W. Clopton Award for Distinguished Community Service

  • Denise Antolini, professor, law

Presidential Citation for Meritorious Teaching

  • Jennifer Blackwell, assistant professor, music
  • Marguerite A. Butler, professor, biology
  • Stephanie Furuta, associate specialist, Institute for Teacher Education
  • Scott Lozanoff, professor, anatomy, biochemistry and physiology
  • Seungoh Paek, associate professor, learning design and technology
  • Philip Williams, professor and chair, chemistry

Presidential Award for Outstanding Service

  • Herman Ayers, janitor, Buildings and Grounds Management
  • Kenton Harsch, director/BA coordinator, English Language Institute
  • Tyler Kitagawa, janitor, Buildings and Grounds Management
  • Steven Labrash, assistant specialist, anatomy, biochemistry and physiology

Dr. Amefil “Amy” Agbayani Faculty Diversity Enhancement Award

  • E. Brooke Chapman de Sousa, associate professor, Institute for Teacher Education

Peter V. Garrod Distinguished Graduate Mentoring Award

  • Henrietta Dulai, professor, Earth sciences

Outstanding Academic Advisor of the Year Award

  • Jill Nakatsu, director of student services, College of Engineering

Faculty Award for Excellence in Mentoring Undergraduate Research and Creative Work

  • Tyler Ray, assistant professor, mechanical engineering
  • Stephanie Teves, assistant professor/undergraduate advisor, Department of Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies

Student Excellence in Research Award

  • Ashley Chontos, PhD candidate, astronomy
  • Samantha Keaulana-Scott, PhD candidate, public health
  • Geetika Patwardhan, bachelor’s candidate, molecular and cell biology

Student Employee of the Year

  • Herman H. Lau, student assistant, General Education Office

See the awards page for a complete list of winner biographies.

Back To Top