Skip to content
Reading time: < 1 minute

People sitting at tables near an H Awards sign

The University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa athletics department hosted its annual H Awards on April 17, under the lights of Les Murakami Stadium, honoring student-athletes’ achievements from the 2022–23 school year.

A highlight of the evening was the presentation of the Jack Bonham Award, which is considered the department’s highest honor and recognizes the top male and female senior student-athlete who “best exemplifies the ideals for which Jack Bonham stood for in the areas of athletic excellence, academic achievement, public service, leadership and character.”

Men’s volleyball player Jakob Thelle and women’s water polo player Emma van Rossum received the award.

For academic achievement, the department’s highest academic honor, the Jenny Matsuda Award, was given to three individuals, including Justin Lisoway of men’s swimming, who received the award for the second consecutive year. The women’s honorees were Kylie McNamara of women’s soccer and Lea Ann Kruse of beach volleyball. The top academic team awards went to men’s tennis, women’s tennis and women’s soccer.

For athletic recognition, volleyball players dominated the Athlete of the Year awards. The male Athlete of the Year recipient was men’s volleyball player Dimitrios Mouchlias while there was a three-way tie for the women’s award between Amber Igiede of women’s volleyball, Brooke Van Sickle of beach volleyball and Laticia Transom of women’s swimming. Van Sickle was a repeat winner after receiving the award last year.

The Rookie of the Year Awards went to football player Peter Manuma and women’s water polo player Bia Mantellato-Dias.

For more, visit

Back To Top