Skip to content
Reading time: 2 minutes

Basketball in front of the Stan Sheriff Center

The University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa is stepping up to host the popular Maui Invitational on its campus this year as the tournament’s normal home venue, the Lahaina Civic Center, is serving as a hub for wildfire recovery efforts. The 2023 Tournament will take place at the SimpliFi Arena at Stan Sheriff Center November 20–22. Planning is underway to provide off-campus parking for basketball fans and to ensure minimum impact to students, faculty and staff during the three-day tournament.

All eight teams from the original field are participating, including five that are in the top 10 of ESPN’s early preseason poll: Kansas (No. 1), Purdue (No. 3), Gonzaga (No. 7), Tennessee (No. 8) and Marquette (No. 10).

Parking information: UH Mānoa hosting multiple events Thanksgiving Week

“While we have to move this year’s tournament off of Maui, we are determined to celebrate and honor the culture and traditions that make this event so special,” said Tom Valdiserri, executive vice president of KemperSports LIVE, the operator of the Maui Invitational. “Throughout this process, we’ve seen the spirit of ʻohana in action. Thank you to Gov. Josh Green, Hawaiʻi Tourism Authority, and Mayor Richard Bissen as well as the staff at Chaminade University of Honolulu and UH at Mānoa for working tirelessly with us to keep this year’s tournament in Hawaiʻi.”

More on how to help Maui ʻohana and the Maui wildfires.

“We are disappointed that we could not make the Lahaina Civic Center available for the Maui Invitational this year, but we are thankful the tournament is staying in Hawaiʻi,” said Maui Mayor Richard Bissen. “We appreciate everything the Maui Invitational is doing to help Maui and its residents.”

The Maui Invitational has long been considered the preeminent early season college basketball tournament. Combined, the eight teams in this year’s field—Tennessee, Syracuse, Purdue, Gonzaga, Kansas, Chaminade, UCLA and Marquette—boast 263 NCAA Tournament appearances and 17 NCAA championship titles.

Back To Top