Skip to content
Reading time: 2 minutes
Lorrie Wong and Laura Reichhardt
Lorrie Wong and Laura Reichhardt

Two University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa alumnae who hold key leadership roles at the university have been inducted as American Academy of Nursing Fellows. Lorrie Wong, associate dean for academic affairs at the Nancy Atmospera-Walch School of Nursing (NAWSON), and Laura Reichhardt, director for the Hawaiʻi State Center for Nursing, have dedicated their careers to advancing the nursing profession and have made significant contributions at the state, national and international levels.

“Congratulations to Dr. Lorrie Wong and Laura Reichhardt on their induction as Fellows of the American Academy of Nursing. They have significantly advanced healthcare education and policy, elevating nursing standards locally and globally. We are immensely proud of their achievements and grateful for their inspiring leadership at UH,” Clementina Ceria-Ulep, NAWSON dean.

Lorrie Wong

Wong has been with UH Mānoa Nursing since 1989. She is the associate dean for academic affairs, serves as inaugural director of the UH Translational Health Science Simulation Center (THSSC) and is the HMSA Distinguished Professor at NAWSON. She has revolutionized healthcare education by creating an interprofessional education program and a simulation center that promotes teamwork and collaboration.

Wong has led projects that enhance healthcare practices in Hawaiʻi, the U.S. and the Pacific Region, and has contributed to policy within the UH System and professional organizations. Under her leadership, THSSC secured more than $8 million in funding and has become a vital training center for healthcare professionals. Wong also established the Hawaiʻi State Nursing Simulation Collaborative and the Hawaiʻi Interprofessional Education workgroup, benefiting more than 1,500 students and professionals annually. She expanded her impact globally through PACSIM, a simulation collaborative supporting six Pacific nations.

“Being named a Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing is a humbling and inspiring honor, which signifies not only my personal journey but also the support and contributions of my colleagues, mentors and patients,” Wong said. “Together, we have made this achievement possible.”

Laura Reichhardt

Reichhardt has served as executive director of the Hawaiʻi State Center for Nursing since 2014. She ensures the center fulfills its research, program and policy mandates. A UH Mānoa alumna with a Master of Science in Nursing and an adult-gerontology nurse practitioner, she applies evidence-based nursing strategies to enhance the nursing impact in Hawaiʻi and nationally.

Reichhardt focuses on improving community health, increasing healthcare access and reducing entry barriers for underrepresented groups. She successfully designed Hawaiʻi’s primary care preceptor tax credit program, leading to legislation that allocates $1.5 million annually in tax credits, resulting in a 29% increase in preceptor engagement. Reichhardt also supports the Hawaii Action Coalition, the Hawaiʻi Rural Health and Policy Center, and served as the Hawaiʻi Liaison for AANP.

Active in national and state nursing organizations, she drives health policy and provides technical assistance to other states aiming to implement similar programs. Reichhardt was also recently selected as an Omidyar Fellow.

“Being inducted into the American Academy of Nursing is an incredible honor, and in particular, for the my contributions and commitment to the nurses of Hawaiʻi is career-affirming,” said Reichhardt. “I am incredibly grateful to be inducted into the Academy which includes many of my mentors and colleagues in the state and nationally. I am energized to continue our good work together.”

Wong and Reichhardt join five American Academy of Nursing Fellows from UH Mānoa: Mary G. Boland, Katherine Finn Davis, Holly B. Fontenot, Deborah Mattheus and Alice M. Tse.

Read more at the NAWSON website.

Back To Top