skip to Main Content

Peter Schall to be honored at UH Manoa TIM School annual "Celebrate a Legacy" event

University of Hawaiʻi
Kristi Bates, (808) 956-4885
School of Travel Industry Management
Posted: Oct 7, 2005

HONOLULU — Peter H. Schall, retired senior vice president of Hilton Hotels Corp. and managing director of Hilton Hawaiian Village Beach Resort & Spa, is this year‘s recipient of UH Mānoa‘s School of Travel Industry Management‘s Legacy Award. Schall will be honored at "Celebrate A Legacy in Tourism," the school‘s annual fundraiser and silent auction event on Tuesday, Nov. 1, 5:30 — 9:00 p.m., at the Hilton Hawaiian Village Beach Resort and Spa, Coral Ballroom.

Mr. Schall‘s dedication and contribution to Hawaiʻi‘s visitor industry for nearly two decades made him one the most influential executives in Hawaiʻi tourism. He oversaw the Hilton Hawaiian Villages‘ $100 million renovation in the 1980‘s and the addition of the Kalia Tower in 2001. These developments were among the first catalysts sparking a renewed interest in investment for the renovation and redevelopment of Waikīkī. His passion for detail and love of the Hawaiian culture was instrumental in the incorporation of many Hawaiian elements in the Hilton Hawaiian Village bringing "Hawaiiana" back to Waikīkī, and winning him praise from the Hawaiian community. He has also been influential in the shaping of Hawaiʻi‘s tourism as a world-class destination for hosting meetings and conventions.

At this year‘s celebration, TIM International will also induct Dean Nakasone, director of sales and marketing of Ohana Hotels & Resorts, into the TIM Alumni Hall of Honor. Nakasone is a 1979 Graduate of the School of Travel Industry Management, and has the distinction of being the first President of TIMSA- the Travel Industry Management Student Association from 1978-1979. His illustrious career started with ITT Sheraton Corporation as a Management Trainee and as of October 13, he will become the General Manager of the Ohana Waikīkī Beachcomber.

This year‘s event will feature the industry‘s best silent auction made up of travel packages and accommodations from around the world including trips to Hong Kong, Las Vegas, New York, Florida, San Francisco, and the Neighbor Islands. Entertainment will be provided by the University of Hawaiʻi Schools of Music, Theatre and Dance. Malika Dudley, Miss Hawaiʻi 2005, will be the Mistress of Ceremonies.

Tickets for the event are still available, as well as gold and silver level sponsorships. For more information, please contact Lee-Ann Choy at (808) 236-3621 or visit to download a registration form.


Each year, the School of Travel Industry Management at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa, and its alumni association, TIM International, Inc, pay tribute to an individual who has made a significant and long-term contribution to the travel industry. Past recipients of the Legacy in Tourism award include Dean Emeritus Chuck Gee, John Brogan, Governor George Ariyoshi, Robert H. Burns, Ambassador L.W. "Bill" Lane and Mrs. Jean Lane (Sunset Magazine) and Dr. Richard R. Kelley. Proceeds from this celebration (the TIM Schools‘ only fundraiser) will go towards funding scholarships, mentorship programs, awards, and providing support for a lectureship program focused on Resort Management and Planning.


The School of Travel Industry Management (TIM School) is a leading professional institution in the development and dissemination of knowledge on all aspects of the travel industry in the Pacific. The School specializes in the Asia-Pacific region; however its student body and faculty come from all over the world. The School offers quality degree and professional educational programs including a Bachelor of Science Degree with emphasis on hospitality management, tourism management or transportation management, a Master of Science Degree and the e-TIM On-line Graduate Certificate Program. The School also offers the Executive Development Institute for Tourism (EDIT) and the Hawaiʻi International Hotel Institute (HIHI), professional training programs for travel industry executives and professionals. The School is accredited through 2007 by the ACPHA (Accreditation Commission for Programs in Hospitality Administration) and has received the TedQual (Tourism Education Quality) certificate designation by the WTO (World Tourism Organization).

For more information, visit: