Finalists for Dean's position at UH Manoa College of Engineering invited to campus for meetings, interviews

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Joanne Clark, (808) 956-1633
UH Manoa Chancellor's Office
Posted: Jan 13, 2006

Finalists for the position of Dean at the University of Hawaiʻi at Manoa College of Engineering have been identified. They will be on the Manoa campus for meetings and interviews beginning next week.

"The College of Engineering is well-positioned for growth in the future," said Interim UH Manoa Chancellor Denise Konan, "and excellent leadership will be essential as we move forward. The college has developed an extensive network of partners from the professional community, and being able to build on those relationships will be an important consideration as the campus proceeds with this review."

UH Manoa business college dean Vance Roley chaired the search advisory committee. "The committee had a pool of outstanding applicants from which to make its choices," he said. "I appreciate committee members‘ willingness to devote their time to this task, and we are pleased to forward first-rate candidates to the chancellor for the next step in the process."

The finalists are:

Mun Young Choi — Professor and Department Head, Department of Mechanical Engineering and Mechanics, and Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies, College of Engineering, Drexel University. Professor Choi received his Ph.D. and M.A. degrees from Princeton University, and a B.S. degree from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Peter E. Crouch — Dean, Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering and Vice Provost for Global Engagement, Arizona State University. Dean Crouch received his Ph.D. in Applied Sciences from Harvard University, and a Master of Science degree in Control Theory and a B.S. in Engineering Science from Warwick University.

Stanley B. Grant — Professor of Environmental Engineering and Chair, Department of Chemical and Biochemical Engineering and Materials Sciences, Henry Samueli School of Engineering, University of California, Irvine. Professor Grant received his Ph.D. and M.S. degrees in Environmental Engineering Science from Caltech, and a B.S. in Geology from Stanford University.

Lalit Raj Verma — Professor and Department Head, Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering, University of Arkansas. Professor Verma received his Ph.D. in Engineering from the University of Nebraska, his M.S. in Agricultural Engineering from Montana State University, and a B.Tech. in the same field from the J.N. Agricultural University of Jabalpur, India.

Additional biographical information about the candidates and about the search process will be posted on the Web at

The public is invited to meet the candidates at open presentations beginning next week. Meetings will be held at the Hawaiʻi Institute of Geophysics (HIG) at 2525 Correa Road or the Marine Sciences Building (MSB) at 1000 Pope Road on the UH Manoa campus. Each candidate will speak to the topic "The Future of Engineering in Today‘s Society."

Stanley Grant — Wednesday, January 18, 4:30-5:30 p.m., HIG 110

Mun Young Choi — Monday, January 23, 4:30-5:30 p.m., MSB 114

Peter Crouch — Thursday, January 26, 4:30-5:30 p.m., MSB 114

Lalit Raj Verma — Monday, January 30, 4:30-5:30 p.m., MSB 114

Members of the search advisory committee are:
Chair, V. Vance Roley, Dean, College of Business Administration, UH Manoa; Carlos Coimbra, Associate Professor and College of Engineering Faculty Senate Chair; Ronald N.S. Ho, President, Ronald N.S. Ho & Associates, Inc.; Heather Kalei, B.S. Candidate, ME, and Undergraduate Student Representative; Donald C.W. Kim, President/Chief Executive Officer, Amkor A&E; Lily Laiho, Assistant Professor, ME; Bruce Liebert, Associate Professor/Chair, ME; Marie N.H. Ohta, College of Engineering Administrative Officer; Lynnette Ramirez, Ph.D. Candidate, ME, and Graduate Student Representative; Chittaranjan Ray, Associate Professor, CEE; H. Ronald Riggs, Professor/Chair, CEE; Galen Sasaki, Associate Professor/Chair, EE; Georgette Sakumoto, Administrative Officer and APT Representative, Office of Research Services.

For more information, visit: