UH Manoa Chancellor Search Advisory Committee announced

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Jim Manke, (808) 956-6099
Chancellor's Office
Posted: Mar 16, 2006

PEARL CITY, Oʻahu — At the March meeting of the University of Hawaiʻi Board of Regents, Mānoa Faculty Senate Chair Robert Bley-Vroman reported that the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Chancellor‘s Search Advisory Committee had been constituted. Bley-Vroman will chair the Search Advisory Committee, which will be asked to recommend a small number of candidates to UH System President David McClain, along with an assessment of their strengths and weaknesses. The president will make a recommendation to the Board of Regents, which selects the chancellor.The composition of the committee was developed in accordance with a search process developed last fall under the leadership of Interim Chancellor Denise Konan in collaboration with the campus community. Details of the process are posted on the UH Mānoa chancellor‘s website. The membership of the committee was forwarded to the president for his consideration and confirmation by Bley-Vroman. The undergraduate student representative is Grant Teichman, president of ASUH, and the graduate student representative is Angelos K. Hannides, a graduate assistant in the Department of Oceanography, School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology.

Representing the faculty are:
· Denise Antolini, associate professor, William S. Richardson School of Law
· Ruth Dawson, professor of women‘s studies, College of Social Sciences
· Barry Raleigh, researcher at the Hawaiʻi Natural Energy Institute and former dean, School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology
· Tom Ramsey, professor of mathematics, College of Natural Sciences
· Elizabeth Tam, professor and chair, Department of Medicine, John A. Burns School of Medicine
· Ric Trimillos, professor and chair, Asian Studies, School of Hawaiian, Asian and Pacific Studies
Lilikala Kameʻeleihiwa, professor in the Center for Hawaiian Studies and former director of the Center, is the Kualiʻi Council representative.The clerical representative is Leimomi Kawakami, secretary in the UH Mānoa Honors Program. Administrative/professional/technical (APT) employees are represented by Walt Niemczura, facilities manager for the nuclear magnetic resonator/mass spectrometer in the chemistry department, College of Natural SciencesRolf Kudritzki, director of the Institute for Astronomy, represents the organized research units, while UH Mānoa deans are represented by Dick Dubanoski, dean of the College of Social Sciences, and Vance Roley, dean and First Hawaiian Bank Professor of Leadership and Management in the College of Business.UH Mānoa alumni are represented by Janet Yoshida, president of the UH Alumni Association. Community members include Howard Karr, past chair and current member of the UH Foundation Board of Trustees, and Nadine Nishioka, head of the Mānoa Neighborhood Board. Search Advisory Committee Chair Bley-Vroman is associate professor in the Department of Second Language Studies, College of Languages, Linguistics and Literature.The Search Advisory Committee will be assisted in its work by an executive search firm, to be chosen in the coming weeks. The committee hopes to complete its work in the late fall of this year, or in the early spring of 2007. Interim Chancellor Denise Konan has not indicated whether she will be a candidate or not. About the University of Hawaiʻi
Established in 1907 and fully accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges, the University of Hawaiʻi is the state‘s sole public system of higher education. The UH System provides an array of undergraduate, graduate, and professional degrees and community programs on 10 campuses and through educational, training, and research centers across the state. UH enrolls more than 50,000 students from Hawaiʻi, the U.S. mainland, and around the world. For more information, visit www.hawaii.edu.